Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Egonaut: The Omega

Here is another 2017 release for you metal and hard rock fans out there. The band is Egonaut which formed in 2006. Their latest is titled The Omega, the follow up to Deluminati, released in 2015. This is the first album I have heard by the band.

In the band are:

Emil Kyrk (vocals)
Fredrik Jordanius (guitars)
Dennis Zielinski (organs, Mellotrons, synthesizers)
Mikael Bielinski (bass)
Markus Johansson (drums)

The Omega is a heavy album with some great guitar riffs and solos. For a contrast in sound, Egonaut also employ quieter atmospheres with the use of synths and Mellotrons. This is a big plus for me as the music is never one dimensional as the heavy stuff is nicely contrasted with lighter sounds. The vocals are also quite good as Kyrk has a powerful voice, sometimes a little gruff but always in tune. The first track has some growled verses but for those who are not into extreme vocals don’t fret as this is the only track to feature them. Speaking of the first track titled “Initium” the drums absolutely crush and the riffs are fast and heavy. Organ is used to nicely fill out the sound. “Alienati” begins with a slow crushing riff, big doomy chords that will shake you to the core. The vocals are a bit gruff before the music lightens up and the vocals become much more melodic. On “Offerings” the heaviness is again offset with more tranquil moments. The riffs are doomy and dark and again organ is used to full effect. More heavy doom can be heard on “The Abdication” and the beginning of “The Pledge” where the riffs are slow and thick supplemented with cool organ lines before the pace picks up speed breaking into a rocking guitar solo. The dark and atmospheric instrumental “Into the Eye” is another cool track.

Egonaut is another nice discovery from Sweden, a musical hotbed if there ever was one. I look forward to hearing more of this band in the future. Released on Mighty Music.

Track Listing:
1. Initium
2. Alienati
3. Offerings
4. The Abdication
5. The Pledge
6. Into the Eye
7. Awakenings
8. Totentanz
9. Deathsworn
10. Revelations

Added: May 4th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 958
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by