Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Major Denial: Duchess Of Sufferings

Greek outfit Major Denial debuted in 2015 with their Minor Ways EP, before following up with Duchess Of Sufferings at the tail end of last year; the band’s first full length effort a concept piece about desire, lust and obsession. Operating within the realms of (slightly) symphonic power metal, it’s vocalist Yannis Papadopoulos who gives the earliest indication of where Major Denial are headed, a Tommy Karevik meets Roy Khan like attack leaving little doubt that he’s strongly acquainted with all things Kamelot. And so are this band. In truth, for some, the obvious adulation being paid here might be laid on just a little too thick, but as ever, when something is done extremely well, does it really matter?

Whether through design, or a simple lack of budget, Major Denial’s approach is a little rawer and therefore a little more willing to reveal the Iron Maiden influence that this sound often revolves round. Interestingly it also allows the likes of “In Sickness Of Lust” or “She Wears Shadows” to sound a little more innovative than was maybe intended. And while there isn’t a single second on Duchess Of Sufferings that doesn’t sound like something that Kamelot would consider for one of their middle era albums, it does ensure that everything steers well clear of parody.

However, an aspect that every album from those knights of the round table simply must have, is a female foil for the male lead singer and right on cue, Lisette van den Berg shows up on closing number “Se Ipse Necavit”. With both vocalists so impressive and Yannis dominating much of the admittedly crafted and well constructed fare on display, the most surprising aspect of Duchess Of Sufferings is that neither singer is listed as a full band member, with both being included as guest contributors in the credits along with keyboard player Stratos Diamantis. The band’s core number consisting Nektarios Ntagkas and Ahilleas Diamantis (both on guitars), Panagiotis Haramis (bass) and Kostas Milonas (drums).

In truth, with Yannis’s voice fitting this band’s surrounds so perfectly, they really should investigate whether he might consider a full time job… Although the fact that the ex-Wardrum singer is now fronting Anton Kabanen’s (ex of Battle Beast) Beast In Black will probably scupper any chance of that happening. Something that is a real shame, for if this outfit have to find a new voice for their next release, discovering someone who sounds just so at home fronting their music could prove something of a challenge. As it is, let’s just worry about the here and now and welcome Major Denial and their excellent Duchess Of Sufferings into the symphonic power metal fold. It’s much more fun than the band and album names suggest!

Track Listing
1. Illustrious
2. Rise With The Dawn
3. Immortality
4. In Sickness Of Lust
5. The Chains Of Failure
6. She Wears Shadows
7. The Water' s Black
8. Agonies Of Fear
9. Duchess Of Sufferings
10. Se Ipse Necavit

Added: May 3rd 2018
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Major Denial at bandcamp
Hits: 835
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by