Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Possible Worlds: Pilgrim of the Absolute

Possible Worlds is an alternative progressive rock band based out of Boston. Pilgrim of the Absolute is their album debut. The beginnings of the band go back to 2001 when guitarist/keyboardist Dan Gioffre formed the alternative rock band The Getaway. Eventually the project was shelved but a few years later Gioffre formed Possible Worlds. Gioffre is joined by Zak King (drums) and Jon Pardo (vocals) as well as a number of guest musicians.

Gioffre's alternative/indie roots certainly make their way to the surface on a number of tracks. The band has a nice melodic guitar centric sound and the lead vocals are very good.

The first track "New Song" begins with a fast keyboard motif before slowing with guitar and vocals. It all builds again and has an indie/prog feel, very catchy and upbeat. On "Isolation i" the tempo is slower and the vibe is slightly moodier but like the first track the guitar is front and center and the riffs are catchy and easy on the ears. Most of these tracks are built upon solid riffs that will catch your ear almost immediately. With "Lighter" the vocals strongly reminded me of The Bare Naked Ladies and that is a compliment as I've always considered their vocals to be very good. Again, the riffs are catchy and melodic. "Listen" is a softer track with both acoustic and electric guitar used effectively.

The reworking of the Rush classic "Subdivisions" is perhaps the biggest surprise here. It is always difficult touching a revered classic but after a couple of listens I have warmed up to this rendition. The band do a nice job changing it up offering softer parts along with those classic riffs. Sure you can't beat the original version but I do appreciate the effort and enjoy it for what it is.

Pilgrim of the Absolute is a very good alternative prog album with some fine melodies scattered throughout. I look forward to hearing their next release.

Track Listing:
1. New Song (3:41)
2. Isolation i (3:54)
3. Lighter (3:17)
4. Listen (6:07)
5. Isolation ii (4:55)
6. Subdivisions (6:08)
7. Isolation iii (5:08)
8. Isolation iv (4:26)
9. Alone and Alive (6:45)
10. Lighter (reprise) (1:50)

Added: May 2nd 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2135
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by