Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Borealis: The Offering

After re-recording their 2008 album World of Silence for their AFM debut back in 2017, the band are back a year later with their brand new release of original material for the label, the red hot The Offering. The bands brand of dark progressive/power metal is firmly intact on these new compositions, again with hints of Evergrey, Savatage, Circle II Circle, Brainstorm, and Communic popping up every now and then, but Borealis have worked very hard to find their own identity, and this latest release might be their most realized platter yet.

It doesn't get much better than the opening 1-2 punch of "The Fire Between Us" and "Sign of No Return", two excellent metal tracks dripping with super crunchy riffs, blazing lead guitar solos, a backdrop of symphonic keyboards, jackhammer rhythms, and Matt Marinelli's expert vocals. The title cut is ultra-heavy, the riffs gargantuan, almost in a Symphony X sort of way, and "River" takes that one step further, Sean Dowell's insane drumming driving a cavalcade of guitar firepower, soaring vocals, and orchestral keys. Honestly, there's not a weak track to be found here, some other highlights including the tender "The Devil's Hand", the progressive might of "Into the Light", the emotional crusher "The Awakening", and the absolutely lethal metal beast that is "Forever Lost". Fans of the more symphonic & melodic aspect of Borealis' sound will love the near 9-minute closer "The Ghosts of Innocence", a real tour-de-force of poignant yet powerful progressive metal.

Though Borealis have a string of very strong albums to their credit, it's pretty clear that The Offering is to date their magnum opus. Top to bottom, this is expertly crafted, melodic progressive/power metal of the highest order, the songs instantly memorable & very heavy, with the emotion behind the songs fully coming through and the production simply fantastic. Highest recommendations!

Track Listing
01. The Fire Between Us
02. Sign Of No Return
03. The Offering
04. River
05. The Second Son
06. The Devil's Hand
07. Into The Light
08. Scarlet Angel
09. The Awakening
10. The Path
11. Forever Lost
12. The Ghosts Of Innocence

Added: May 1st 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 934
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by