Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Psychedelic Witchcraft: Sound of the Wind

Listenable Records has a winner on their hands with the new full-length release from Italian cult-rock act Psychedelic Witchcraft, titled Sound of the Wind. Led by the powerful vocals of Virginia Monti and the doom laden riffs of Jacopo Fallai, the band are rounded out by the dynamic rhythm team of bassist Riccardo Giuffre and drummer Mirko Buia. Citing musical influences ranging from Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, Coven, Leaf Hound, Trouble, Iron Butterfly, Jefferson Airplane, Dio, Iron Claw, and Fleetwood Mac, the band are also into Italian gothic horror from filmmakers such as Dario Argento, Mario Bava, and Lucio Fulci, which gives their songs that macabre edge to go along with their doom & psychedelic might.

Monti's vocals are quite good, her charming yet trippy delivery devilishly stabbing over Fallai's vast array of blues & fuzz toned riffing, giving tracks like "Lords of War" and "Wild We Go" plenty of menace, while the more atmospheric numbers such as "Sound of the Wind" and "Let Me Be Myself" bridge the gap between the Jefferson Airplane acid rock and Free's classic British electric blues, the latter containing some effective electric piano to complement the emotional vocals and tasty guitar licks. For the most part however, Sound of the Wind is chock full of seriously groovy, '70s styled bluesy hard rock & doom, evident on the turbulent "Turn Me On', complete with some serious wah-wah guitars, the Black Sabbath inspired "Rising On the Edge", the organ/guitar thunder of "The Warrens", and the blues-rock swagger of "Sin of Mine". Monti really struts her stuff on the latter, coming across like a more heavy rock version of Beth Hart�definitely a vocal talent to keep your eye on.

Psychedelic Witchcraft prove here on Sound of the Wind that their 2016 release The VIsion was no fluke, as their brand of accessible yet pretty heavy occult rock continues to mature and grow, seemingly ready made for the masses. Well done, and a band that have all the tools to be huge.

Track Listing
1. Maat 01:24
2. Lords Of The War 03:42
3. Wild We Go 04:30
4. Sound Of The Wind 04:34
5. Turn Me On 05:16
6. Rising On The Edge 04:52
7. The Warrens 04:00
8. Sin Of Mine 03:39
9. Let Me Be Myself 03:37
10. Horizons 02:52

Added: May 1st 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 973
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by