Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mile Marker Zero: The Fifth Row

Back in 2014 we reviewed the Young Rust EP from Connecticut's Mile Marker Zero, which was a huge step forward for this exciting progressive metal band on only their second release. Here they are to kick off 2018 with their third album, the full-length The Fifth Row, and surprisingly this talented outfit are still without a label, which, could very well change after the world hears this excellent new album. The current line-up of the band consists of:

Dave Alley - Vocals
John Tuohy - Guitar
Mark Focarile - Keyboards
Jaco Lindito - Bass
Doug Alley - Drums

Back in 2014, we remarked that the band's music was a must hear for any fan of Tool, Fates Warning, and Dream Theater, and that's still the case, perhaps we can additionally throw Porcupine Tree, Spock's Beard, Transatlantic, and Pain of Salvation in there as well. The Fifth Row is a long album packed with plenty of daring arrangements that cross into atmospheric & melodic prog-rock waters as well as complex and heavy passages squarely in the progressive metal vein. "Digital Warrior" is a crankin' piece with some lethal guitar work from Tuohy and Focarile's majestic keyboard textures, while the classy "2001" contains some of Dave Alley's most potent vocals on the album, his Maynard James Keenan inflected vocal style working quite well with these energetic songs. He's full of aggression on the upbeat rocker "Architect", and varies his attack on the highly progressive "Building a Machine", a tune also noteworthy for his brother Doug's intricate drum work and Lindito's groovy bass tones. Other highlights include the symphonic stomp of "Propaganda", the emotional "U.I." (featuring another killer vocal from Alley), and the wild "Age of Jason", easily one of the most complex tunes here and a real good pick for any fan of Dream Theater or Anubis Gate, complete with some sizzling guitar work and layers of keyboards.

Though they aren't a household name just yet, it shouldn't be long before Mile Marker Zero are one of the most talked about progressive metal bands on the planet. Great musicians, excellent vocals, and memorable songs all equals a recipe for success....don't miss this one!

Track Listing

  1. Source Code 2:17
  2. 2001 5:11
  3. Digital Warrior 7:25
  4. Architect 5:18
  5. Building a Machine 6:39
  6. Victory 5:26
  7. JCN 4:32
  8. Middle Game 1:30
  9. Propoganda 5:42
  10. Sacred Geometry 2:57
  11. Clarity 1:29
  12. U.I. 3:54
  13. 2020 4:21
  14. Age of Jason 3:59
  15. Collective 6:41

Added: March 25th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2919
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by