Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Atkins, David Lawrence: Spitting On A Fish

Way back in 1968, a young Steve Howe, Dave Curtiss and Bobby Clark got together to record a few tracks. While nothing was released back in the day, in 1981 the album The Bodast Tapes was released on Cherry Red. Curtiss' next project was the short-lived Curtiss Muldoon which also featured the Yes guitarist and released an album of the same name in 1971. This was followed by the album simply titled Muldoon in 1973. Eventually Dave Curtiss became known as David Lawrence Atkins who just happens to have a new album titled Spitting On A Fish.

Atkins takes his cues from '60s and '70s English songwriters like Ray Davies, Ronnie Lane, as well as American artists like Tom Waits and Warren Zevon and maybe even a dash of Leonard Cohen. I have to say I am really digging this platter of folk and bluesy rock music with flavourings of jazz to add just enough variety. Atkins has a great voice, suitably gravelly to invoke the blues yet smooth enough to adhere to other musical genres. His passion and soul cannot be understated.

A Gypsy/Eastern folk and blues feel permeates the album opening title track as acoustic guitar strums and soulful vocals gives the feeling this stuff comes from deep within. The lyrics also make a powerful statement. With "Sepheryn" breezy acoustic guitar exudes a summery, relaxing vibe with catchy vocals and terrific horns further enhancing the sound. The light and airy "And She Danced" is another tasteful slice of jazzy pop. The tender acoustic ballad "Afraid Of Love" showcases Atkins' deep crooner delivery with just the right amount of gravelly inflection amidst a lovely brass arrangement. Another favourite is the '60s influenced "Too Many Bullets" with an excellent bass line and addictive horns. Flugelhorn, sax and trombone are used to great effect throughout the album.

Jazz, blues, pop, crooner, this album has much to offer making it an uplifting and catchy listen that should appeal to many of our readers. Recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Spitting On A Fish
2. Sepheryn
3. Too Many Bullets
4. Afraid Of Love
5. And She Danced
6. Blue Like You
7. Oh Tonight
8. Lazy Days
9. Lighten Up Your Life
10. Goodnight
11. Little Soldier
12. Shine On Me

Added: March 12th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1151
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by