Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sherpa: Tanzlinde

Here is another album that has totally taken me by surprise, released in late 2016. The band is Sherpa and their debut album is titled Tanzlinde. Hailing from Italy, the band was previously known as Edith Aufn and released a self-titled debut in 2013. Tanzlinde is their first album since they reconfigured and changed their name.

This is a lovely effort, with the music having a chill, laid back sound, very calming and relaxing stuff. Their influences are clearly taken from late '60s/early '70s psychedelia with some folky elements and ethnic oriental textures. I just love the unassuming trippiness as the band are never in your face. This isn't about fast soloing and wankery, in fact you will find none of that here. Concerning the album's title, translated it means 'Linden Tree'. When you gather its leaves it allows oneself to look deep within and discover your innermost feelings. It can also be thought as a metaphor for strength and growing. It's a thoughtful idea and meshes well with the music found within.

Guitar chords ring and chime in a laid back '70s psychedelic kind of way in the album opening "Dune". A pretty melody will draw you into the band's brand of trippy psyche pop. The lead vocals are also a highlight and flow with the music beautifully. "Robert W.", presumably referring to Robert Wyatt, is set at a leisurely pace with a repeating guitar motif that is really quite addictive. Guest vocalist Lilia provides dream-like vocals amidst sparse instrumentation. The use of chimes accent the song nicely. "Dubinuska" has a somewhat folky beginning with acoustic guitar but the psychedelia is never very far removed and the fuzzy toned guitar brings a bit of heaviness to the overall trippy sound. This song could have been written in the '60s and I mean that as a compliment. Just a great track. More fuzziness and rumblings can be heard in the '70s infused psyche of the title track, another very strong offering.

To put it succinctly, Tanzlinde is an excellent album and is highly recommended to anyone who appreciates psychedelic music.

Released on Sulatron Records.

Track Listing:
1. Dune
2. Robert W.
3. Dubinuska
4. Tanzlinde
5. Sherpa
6. Magnetic White Tree
7. Loto
8. Big Foot
9. Of Coke and Steel
10. Plot

Added: March 10th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1056
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by