Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rozmainsky Mikhaylov Project: For The Light

Rozmainsky Mikhaylov Project, or RMP for short, is a new Russian 'supergroup' comprising four musicians from various prog-related Russian bands such as Yojo, Algabas, Enine, Roz Vitalis and KGB. Named in 'honour' of the main composers in the outfit - keyboard player Ivan Rozmainsky and guitar player Vladimir Mikhaylov – their band's style is described as almost instrumental eclectic prog, combining avant, symphonic, psychedelic rock and improvisational music. The fundamental goal of the band and its debut album is to 'open new musical worlds that cannot be analysed in the rational manner… The applied goal of the band and its debut album being to reveal how to protect peace of mind in the conditions of troubles and stress.'

Well if this band can cure those ails then these Russian lads will be worth a fortune in no time. In reality however there's no quick fix here, no life changing ethos and no magic remedy. What there is, is a collection of deep, retro prog that uses quite a traditional stance to slowly drive its message home. Also utilising the oft forgotten art of revisiting certain ideas and adapting them as the album evolves, much though For The Light is wordless, it certainly isn't without story. There's also an understanding that if you want to challenge your listener, then equally you have to reward them with some form of pay off. Hence as the album's title tracks veers off into almost abstract jazz, held in place by swathes of echoing organ and hugely dextrous drumming, so the theme builds into an off kilter groove that sweeps you along toward what is a quite sumptuous crescendo. Clarinet is also utilised here, adding colour and unease, before an almost sci-fi theme takes up the charge.

Talking first about the piece that closes the album may seem a little back to front but considering this track not only contains many of the aspects displayed throughout, but also reintroduces the album's opening melody to "Wounded By Lack Of Light", it's as good a place to start as any. In that introductory cut the melody is sung in almost soprano refrain, before a Floydian guitar line ladles on the melancholy. Although if it's the smoothness of Gilmour you expect to sweep up all in its path, then the jagged edges the guitar slowly reveals will tell you otherwise. With "Keep No Thou Silence" sitting on a piano theme that Keane may well have called their own – if you added some corny lyrics - then this lot could have some hit potential. As it is "A Dedication To A Floydian Sun" refuses to be the dark side of wish you were here you thought it might be; clicking hi-hat and plaintive clarinet painting otherworldly pictures instead. "Create In Me A Clean Heart" chimes with a guitar sound which feels more native to this band's homeland, but not for long, a dark jazzy heart revealed once more as an airy avant-garde approach takes over.

Possessing an ever evolving and often challenging personality that can then be split by more melodic passages and moments of less structured beauty, the strength of All The Light is also one of the major hurdles it asks you to overcome. If you can, you'll discover a collection of music with real depth and beauty.

Track Listing
1. Wounded by the Lack of Light
2. Keep No Thou Silence
3. A Dedication to the Floydian Sun
4. Create in Me a Clean Heart
5. The Thing in The Light
6. Dancing Through the Twilight
7. Delivered From the Snare of the Fowler
8. Irish Shine
9. Coming of the Troubled Waters
10. A Flower in the Smoke
11. For The Light

Added: March 4th 2018
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: RMP on bandcamp
Hits: 1187
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by