Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Genocide Pact: Order of Torment

If you're a fan of Joe Petagno's art, you'll want to check out the cover on this album. Petagno is probably most famous for his work with Motorhead (he designed Snaggletooth), but he also worked with Pink Floyd, Nazareth, Led Zepplin, Marduk, and Bal-Sagoth, among others. If you're interested in his stuff, you can pick up a book that collects some of the best stuff or you can do an image search online. Even if you don't know Joe Petagno by name, there's a good chance you know his art anyway. For this album, the artist gives viewers a rather ghastly image straight out of the depths of despair. There's a skeleton, an undead creature, and something slightly reminiscent of Snaggletooth. It's a cool image and it suits this album beautifully.

As for the rest of the album, it's definitely worth a listen. This is Genocide Pact's sophomore album and it definitely shows no signs of slowing down. The band plays death metal that is relentless and hard-driving. From start to finish, this album just sounds big. The songs vary in tempo, but they never lose their overall sense of power and menace. In the grand tradition, this band-a trio-simply sounds bigger than their numbers.

I really enjoyed Tim Mullaney's melodic guitar solos and, of course, his crushing and powerful riffing. He's a solid player, definitely someone to watch. He is also the band's vocalist. Just next to Mullaney's guitar is Mike Nolan's bass. He not only holds things down, he also provides some solid variety and power right when it counts. His playing isn't flashy, but it knows precisely when to strike. I liked his lines on "Ascendancy Absolved" the best. If you're a fan of awesome drumming, Connor Donegan's sound and style will definitely get your attention. I liked his playing on "Conquered and Disposed" the best, but he's no less solid on the other tracks.

This is an impressive album from a band to watch.

Track Listing:
1. Conquered and Disposed
2. Decimation Grid
3. Spawn of Suffering
4. Pain Reprisal
5. Ascendancy Absolved
6. Structural Dissolution
7. Authoritarian Impulse
8. Blood Rejection

Added: March 1st 2018
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1387
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by