Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fischer's Flicker: Open 28 Hours

Album number seven for the outfit that have morphed through many incarnations to become Fishers Flicker and who have been everything from a corporate cover band to major festival performers. Titled Open 28 Hours, this latest offering from the double F lives up to its name, trying to squeeze everything and more into its limited time; various styles galloped across and melded into the Flicker style. Eclectic these Chicagoans are, and yet there's a surprisingly cohesive feel about what they do. At times progressive and funky, at times retro rocking while adding a psych shove. There's much more than meets the eye at first glance and much depth to what you encounter. As you might expect that means that not everything hits with the same fervour and in places you wonder if things are stretched too far, while at other points the question can become more about whether there's enough to keep you truly engaged.

For the most part however, the vivacious energy and passionate displays do more than enough to prevent the slow build and eventually grittily grooved "Smoke Signals" from burning out, or somehow to make the loose cover of "3 6 9" a surprise ear snagger. However it's when this act really push hard that things click into place, "Mother Of A Ship" asking the question, what would you do if aliens offered you all you could ever ask for, in exchange for some of the human race who are merely 'taking up room' on the planet (count me in�). The story telling style that Fischer possesses taking a loose structure and making it a rip roaring romp in both music and theme. But then you also have to struggle through the two minutes of distorted bump and grind of "Father To The Sun", which while a short penance, does work hard at diminishing the enthusiasm somewhat.

That's really the story here for me, when Open 28 Hours hits its mark, then the results are explosive and memorable; the opening pairing of the funaklicious "The In-Betweener" and much more straight forward Americana pop groove of "You & Everybody" impossible to ignore in all the right ways. Whereas "Sensi-Mental" and "Zen" can too often feel meandering and directionless. In fairness the good far outweighs the not so good, the problem being more that just as you think you've grasped this album's vibe, so its slips through your fingers and makes room for something less rewarding. The more adventurous out there who still want some strong rock n' roll markers to keep your bearings will definitely find a lot to enjoy � and so will everyone else, just maybe not as a start to finish exercise.

Track Listing
1. The In-Betweener
2. You & Everybody
3. No More Looking Back
4. 3 6 9
5. Spiders
6. Sensi-Mental
7. Smoke Signals
8. Farther to the Sun
9. Mother of a Ship
10. Zen

Added: May 6th 2018
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Fischers Flicker online
Hits: 1246
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Fischer's Flicker: Open 28 Hours
Posted by Jon Neudorf, SoT Staff Writer on 2018-05-06 15:33:24
My Score:

Fischer’s Flicker is the brainchild of Chicago native Scott Fischer. I reviewed their 2015 release Forever and Never and was quite impressed. Well, their new disc Open 28 Hours is even better. This is their seventh album thus far.

Scott Fischer (vocals, keys)
Tim Gavin (drums)
Rick Lyons (guitars)
Turan Yon (bass and backing vocals)
Andy Sviatko (guitars), Patrick Gunderson (backing vocals And percussion)
Patrick Gunderson (backing vocals and percussion)
Tim Kubiak (guitars on 3 and 6)
Derrick Martens (drums on 3 and 4)
Mikey Vujasin (guitars on 4)
BJ Cord (trumpet on 1 and 9)
Steve Duncan (trombone on 1 and 9)
Aaron McEvers (saxes on 1, 3 and 9)

Excellent ‘70s influenced rock can be heard in the album opening “The In-Betweener”. The nice groove and vocals are well supplemented with sax, trumpet and trombone. The infectious riffs and melodies continue with “You & Everybody”, “No More Looking Back” and the fuzz laden heavy rock of “3 6 9”. On the much quirkier “Spiders”, a more pop rock approach is taken with some interesting time changes adding a progressive factor. “Sensi-Mental”, a neat play on words, continues the fine melodies and catchy riffs. A fine electric piano solo takes us back to days gone by. “Smoke Signals” is a very catchy psychedelic pop song and is another album highlight. The longest track is the near ten minute “Mother of a Ship”, another catchy tune. The funky groove and vocals could have sprouted in the ‘70s. This one leaves me with an all-around good feeling as the positive vibes come at the listener almost non-stop. My only negative comment concerns the short Disney vocal part that I could have done without but I suppose it does fit in with the song’s humouress bent.

Fischer’s Flicker is a talented veteran band with their feet firmly planted in the past. I say nothing wrong with that as their music is both fresh and melodic, as catchy as anything I have heard this year. Please support independent music and check them out.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by