Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eagles, The: Legendary Radio Broadcasts (4 CD Set)

This is a live four CD set of The Eagles' radio broadcasts between the years 1976 and 1994. This is a bare bones package with little information except for the track listing for each CD. I have been a big fan of The Eagles since the late '70s so I was pretty excited to dive into this one. The performances, not surprisingly, are excellent from all band members and the vocals, one of my favourite things about the band, are spot on.

On the first couple of discs there is some repetition as "Hotel California", "Lyin' Eyes", "One Of These Nights" and "I Can't Tell You Why" do appear twice but the performances are all excellent. The audio quality is iffy at times and does vary from track to track so you will want to keep that in mind. Other highlights include "In The City" with Joe Walsh on lead vocals sounding great, the infectious "Already Gone" and the superb "King Of Hollywood" with the shared vocals of Henley and Frey and that classic talk box guitar on the rocking "Those Shoes". Their classic late '70s album The Long Run is featured heavily here but since that was my first Eagles' album I don't have a problem with that. That said, tracks from Hotel California like the lovely "New Kid In Town", "Victim Of Love" and the absolutely gorgeous "Wasted Time" with Henley's impactful lead vocals also sound great.

On disc 3 you get the classics "Tequila Sunrise" (Frey's vocals are outstanding), Life In The Fast Lane" and Joe Walsh's "Life's Been Good" where the band is clearly having some fun. It's nice to hear the James Gang classic rocker "Funk #29" and of course Henley's "The Boys Of Summer" and "Dirty Laundry" are always welcome.

The last disc features another Joe Walsh classis "Rocky Mountain Way" and their brand new single at the time "Get Over It". Lots of bluesy rock riffs all over these tracks.

While the audio quality is suspect and varies from track to track, Legendary Radio Broadcasts is still recommended for Eagles fans as it documents just how excellent this band was/is live. Yes there is some repetition here but with the tragic death of Glen Frey already receding in our rear view mirrors this album is all the more pertinent.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Hotel California
2. Already Gone
3. In The City
4. King Of Hollywood
5. The Sad Café
6. Lyin' Eyes
7. I Can't Tell You Why
8. Those Shoes
9. Heartache Tonight
10. One Of These Nights
11. Turn To Stone
12. The Long Run

CD 2
1. Hotel California
2. Victim Of Love
3. New Kid In Town
4. Wasted Time
5. Pretty Maids All In A Row
6. The Girl From Yesterday
7. I Can't Tell You Why
8. New York Minute
9. Ordinary Average Guy
10. Lyin' Eyes
11. One Of These Nights

CD 3
1. Tequila Sunrise
2. Help Me Through The Night
3. Love Will Keep Us Alive
4. The Heart Of The matter
5. You Belong To The City
6. Band Introductions
7. The Boys Of Summer
8. Funk #49
9. Dirty Laundry
10. Smuggler's Blues
11. Life's Been Good
12. All She Wants To Do Is Dance
13. Heartache Tonight
14. Life In The Fast Lane

CD 4
1. Get Over It
2. Rocky Mountain Way
3. Already Gone
4. Desperado
5. Take It Easy
6. Life's Been Good
7. Life In The Fast Lane
8. Carol

Added: February 23rd 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1681
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by