Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Benack III, Benny: One Of A Kind

Benny Benack III is a native of Pittsburgh and has been involved in the New York jazz scene for a little while now having recently released his debut album titled One Of A Kind. The young trumpeter and vocalist says he is inspired by the Tin Pan Alley musical era which began in the late 19th century lasting till the end of WWII or thereabouts. This was a time when popular music was exploding with the help of cinema, the phonograph and radio. One Of A Kind is a feel good swinging jazz album steeped in the sentimentality and romanticism that was so richly defined in that era. Helping out Benack are Joel Frahm (saxophone), Yotam Silbertstein (guitar), Emmet Cohen (piano), Alex Claffy (bass) and Ulysses Owens Jr. (drums).

There are a total of twelve tunes, with the eight originals divided equally between instrumentals and vocal tracks. Benack has a rich and melodic voice, perfectly capturing that classic sound. He proves to be an excellent crooner in his own right. His trumpet work is also a highlight, expressive and melodic and is of course an integral component in every piece beginning with the album opening title track. This is up beat old school sentimental swing with tuneful trumpet and piano melodies invoking a romantic vibe. Gentle guitar chords and lyrical guitar soloing highlight "Kiss Me Slowly" followed by the catchy "I Found You" where the drumming is much more forceful. On "You Already Know" the playing is fiery as trumpet, sax, piano and drums offer up some great solos. The pace is slower on the gently weaving sentimentality of "Looking for Love" while the classic "Close to You" is invigorated with awesome piano and imaginative drumming. The guitar solo in "I Only Have Eyes For You" is another highlight.

One Of A Kind is classic jazz in the truest sense successfully bringing a bygone era back to life while adding their own unmistakable sound. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:
1. One Of A Kind ((5:25)
2. Kiss Me Slowly (5:00)
3. I Found You (5:54)
4. You Already Know (5:41)
5. Looking for Love (4:49)
6. Jumpstart (4:44)
7. When Midnight Comes (7:12)
8. Close to You (3:58)
9. I Only Have Eyes For You (6:29)
10. Londontowne (6:00)
11. Guh Guh Guh (6:08)
12. Benny's From Heaven (5:40)

Added: February 21st 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1155
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by