Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Kujanpćć, Juha: Kultasiipi - Goldwing

Highly respected in his own country, Finnish composer/musician Juha Kujanpćć released his debut album Tales and Travels in 2013. This is a review of his sophomore effort titled Kultasiipi released in 2015. The English translation is Goldwing.

First, my apologies to the artist as this CD seems to have slipped between the cracks.

The music bridges the gaps between folk, jazz and symphonic rock. Kujanpćć and his band are excellent musicians as this is a classy piece of work, including the production values which are indeed stellar. Layers of synths, violin and guitar are richly orchestrated propelled by the propulsive force of Jussi Miettola (drums, percussion) and Tero Tuovinen (electric and double bass). Gentle strings and synths create a calming orchestral effect at the start of the opening track "Paalasmaa" before veering into a jaunty melody with more upbeat symphonic elements. The Nordic sound is unmistakable. This is followed by "Athene ja Zephyr", where a nice bass groove and string arrangement enliven the folky symphonic rock sound. The drum skills of Miettola are put to the test and he passes with flying colours and the layer of saxophone adds a flavouring of jazz. The serene and gentle folk of "Hetken haave" begins with the sounds of splashing water soon followed with piano and accordion, emphasizing the delicate nature of the piece. The band's progressive nature can be heard on "Tapiirikuningas" as guitar , keyboards and violin create a resounding tapestry of sound. The repeating motif is a real ear catcher. Likewise, the band is equally adept at capturing jazz like in the joyous "Kahvit Kuopiossa" as clarinet, sax, banjo and accordion create an inspiring feel good melody. That's the first half of the album, the next five tracks are equally as entertaining.

I highly recommend Kultasiipi to anyone who enjoys Scandinavian folk and symphonic rock music. I think many prog heads will find it rewarding as well.

An Eclipse Music release.

Track Listing:
1. Paalasmaa (Paala's Land) (6:05)
2. Athene ja Zephyr (Athene and Zephyr) (7:55)
3. Hetken haave (Impromptu) (2:57)
4. Tapiirikuningas (Tapir King) (5:17)
5. Kahvit Kuopiossa (Coffee in Kuopio) (4:49)
6. Tulta pćin (Into the Fire) (6:18)
7. Kultasiipi (Goldwing) (7:07)
8. Kaustisen yömarssi (Night March in Kaustinen) (5:41)
9. Taivaanvahdit (Skywatchers) (7:44)
10. Kultasiipi (Reprise) (Goldwing - Reprise) (2:41)

Added: February 21st 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 272
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by