Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Brat, The: Straight Outta East L.A.

The Brat were a Chicano punk/rock band from East L.A. They formed in the late '70s but only released one album, a five song E.P. titled Attitudes released in 1980 after they had signed with Fatima Records. In their short existence the band propelled the underground punk scene in East L.A. which never received the financial backing as the rich West L.A. scene did. Playing in impromptu backyard concerts and unofficial venues the band certainly perpetuated their do-it-yourself image.

On this new disc, a career retrospective, there are twenty-one tracks, most within the two to four minute range including the five songs from the Attitudes E.P., this time remixed. Also included are ten tracks taken from the 'Rothchild Sessions', produced by the famed producer himself (R.I.P.) which had never been released until now.

This is the first time I have heard this band but it sure does bring back memories to what I was listening to in the late '70s and early '80s. Punkish pop music in the vein of The Clash and Blondie with catchy riffs and the excellent lead vocals of Teresa Covarrubias. The harmony backing vocals are also very good. After listening to these tunes it is amazing to me how this band never got the attention they so obviously deserved. The disc is filled with supper catchy tracks like the rocking "Starry Night", the hook laden pop punk of "Vicious Love" and the melodic guitar groove of the opening track "Slaughter Of An Ancient Tribe". Perhaps the catchiest guitar riff can be heard in "The Wolf", another rocking melodic three minute gem. The pure pop of "The Promise", with a light country twist, and the infectious pop of "High School" are more tasty highlights.

This has certainly been a nice find and something I will play when I want a break from the progressive rock I often listen to. These guys and gal wrote a mighty fine catchy tune, in fact, twenty-one of them are included here.

Track Listing:
1. Slaughter Of An Ancient Tribe
2. Vicious Love
3. Swift Moves
4. Leave Me Alone
5. Starry Night
6. Tombstone Blues
7. The Wolf
8. The Promise
9. High School
10. Misogyny
11. Brain Sparks
12. Attitudes
13. Corner Of The World
14. The Cry
15. Indian Ink Tears
16. Hard Sometimes
17. Believe
18. Just Another Day
19. Soldier
20. It's a Climb
21. We Are The One

Added: February 19th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1786
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by