Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Whitesnake: The Purple Tour

David Coverdale and the rest of Whitesnake are on a bit of a late career resurgence lately, as their The Purple Album released a few years ago allowed Coverdale to revisit some of those classic songs he recorded with Deep Purple back in the '70s, which resulted in a highly successful tour and now live album & DVD/Blu-ray release. The band have had so much fun that another tour and studio album are in the works, which is great for everyone as a few years ago Coverdale hinted that he might be ready to retire from the active music scene. For this new live release, make sure you get the CD/video package set, as the DVD/Blu-ray will contain the full show, but the CD does not, leaving off three songs, the dual guitar solo, and some bonus material. As someone who caught the band live on this tour, it was a revelation hearing songs from the Deep Purple Mk3 & 4 line-ups live on stage for the first time ever, sprinkled of course with a healthy dollop of Whitesnake classics.

"Bad Boys", "Love Ain't No Stranger", "Give Me All Your Love", "Is This Love", "Still of the Night", "Fool For You Loving" and of course "Here I Go Again" are of course here, along with "Ain't No Love in the Heart of the City", but it's the appearance of the mighty "Burn", a spine chilling "The Gypsy", a gut wrenching "Mistreated", the gentle "Soldier of Fortune", and a cranking "You Fool No One" that provide the special moments here. Get the video set for the rest of the Purple selections, but seriously, they should have just made the CD only version a double disc set, as there's just not enough Purple classics here. Coverdale still sounds strong, though no one is going to mistake him today for the vocal god he was in the '70s and '80s, and he's got himself a killer band with guitarists Reb Beach & Joel Hoekstra, bassist Michael Devin, drum legend Tommy Aldridge, and keyboardist Michele Luppi.

4 out of 5 stars for the CD set, but do yourself a favor and just buy the deluxe and get the whole show, which is the way to go here.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Burn (Live)
2. Bad Boys (Live)
3. Love Ain't No Stranger (Live)
4. The Gypsy (Live)
5. Give Me All Your Love (Live)
6. Ain't No Love In The Heart Of The City (Live)
7. Mistreated (Live)
8. You Fool No One (Live)
9. Soldier Of Fortune (Live)
10. Is This Love (Live)
11. Fool For Your Loving (Live)
12. Here I Go Again (Live)
13. Still Of The Night (Live)

Added: February 19th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 486
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by