Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Three Seasons: Things Change

We've been closely watching the career of Swedish act Three Seasons over the course of their first three albums for Transubstans Records, and their latest release Things Change does indeed signal somewhat of a 'change' as the band solidifies their move to a more classic power trio sound. Their previous albums contained a fair amount of Hammond organ and additional instruments, but here it's all guitar, bass, and drums from Sartez Faraj (guitars, vocals), Olle Risberg (bass), and new drummer Thomas Broman, who has played with Glenn Hughes, John Norum, and Michael Schenker.

With the omission this time around of the Hammond organ element, Three Seasons moves away from the Deep Purple influence heard on the first three albums into more of a pure blues rock/hard rock sound with a touch of psychedelia, at times not that far removed from classic Led Zeppelin, Humble Pie, and Cactus. "Something You Can't Have" and the title cut contain a wealth of scorching guitar licks and a fat bottom end, with Faraj's high pitched bluesy vocals soaring over the top, while "Trust Me" sees Broman flailing away underneath some slightly funky riffs and biting blues rock solos. Those funky grooves again appear on the rhythmic "Set Me Free", and the snarling "I Don't Need Nothing More" is one of the albums more raucous tunes, chock full of hot guitar work from Faraj. His crisp riffs also drive the uptempo "Are You Surprised?", and the darker, slow blues of "So Far Away" closes out the album with a touch of psychedelia thrown into the mix, the guitar solos explosive and fiery.

With so much great '70s inspired hard rock/blues rock coming out of Sweden in recent years, it can be very easy to overlook some of the many bands who are pumping out killer music on the many labels that are supporting that fruitful scene. Three Seasons have created another winner with their fourth release...check it out.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01 Been Gone
02 Something You Can't Have
03 Things Change
04 Trust Me
05 Set Me Free Again
06 Break Down Start Over
07 I Don't Need Nothing More
08 Are You Surprised?
09 So Far Away

Added: February 18th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1535
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by