Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Freedom Hawk: Freedom Hawk

Retro rockers Freedom Hawk have been honing their craft since 2003 and have since built up a solid discography of riff laden fuzz rock. This latest offering is actually their self-titled sophomore effort, originally released in 2009 and now re-mastered by Chris Goosman at Baseline Audi Labs. On this disc the band continue the heavy riffing laid out on their debut album from a year prior, building upon their riff drenched sound. I am not going to sit here and try to convince you how Freedom Hawk are reinventing the wheel or how diverse sounding they are. That isn't the case as the tracks are similar and the band clearly borrow from the past; Black Sabbath, Kyuss, Led Zeppelin, etc. I'm going to assess these songs on their own merit and draw conclusions from there. After listening to this album two or three times I have to say this band has the 'art of the riff' down to a science. All eight tracks are loaded with that gritty fuzz the band is known for.

The opening track "On The Other Side" begins with distorted noise before the riffs and drums explode with intensity. The '70s inspired chug along riffs hooked me immediately as did Tr Morton's Ozzy-like vocals. The next track "Universal" is faster paced with awesome drum fills, a catchy ascending guitar riff and gritty lead guitar. More highlights include "My Road" where the riffs are absolutely fuzz drenched and the vocals somewhat distant enhanced with spoken words, the slower doom entrenched "Jay Walker" and the album ending "Hollow Caverns" that has the band playing through psychedelic infused clean guitar and dreamier vox to heavier guitar soaked noodling with a killer groove. This is likely the disc's trippiest song and probably my favourite so far.

Is this the most original band in the world? Absolutely not. Are they fun to listen to? Hell yes!

Whether you call this retro rock, fuzz rock, stoner rock or sludge rock, there is no denying this band produces killer riffs that will have many a rock fan clamouring for more.

A Ripple Music release.

Track Listing:
1. On The Other Side
2. Universal
3. My Road
4. Ten Years
5. Bad Man
6. Jay Walker
7. Hollow Caverns

Added: February 3rd 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1361
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Freedom Hawk: Freedom Hawk
Posted by plunkfall on 2023-07-17 07:08:43
My Score:

It'll be more fun to reach the end of the trail with a buddy free games

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by