Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Berlaffa, Alessio: Electric Mist

Electric Mist is the brand new instrumental solo album from Italian guitarist/composer Alessio Berlaffa, who of course resides on the Lion Music roster of incredible guitar talent. Berlaffa has recorded all the guitars and the bulk of the keyboards himself, with some help from guests Alessandro Del Vecchio on Hammond, bass courtesy of Alberto Bollati, Gianni Cicogna, Nicola Angileri, Franco Avalli, and Thomas Plebani, and drums from Corrado Ciceri, Erik Tulissio, and Sergio Pescara. Guest guitar solos by Gianluca Ferro and Rob Balducci appear on two tracks.

As instrumental guitar albums go, Electric Mist is a mighty fine one. Berlaffa has plenty of chops, and he also knows how to write a melodic, catchy tune. Opening cut "Overture: Into the Mist" is brimming with alluring, Joe Satriani inspired lead lines and memorable hooks, while the engaging "Seasons" has plenty of flash and charm thanks to Alessio's fantastic picking. His duel with Balducci on "Sunrise & Sunset" is pretty exciting, both players showing plenty of taste as they shred, and the title track contains some of the albums heaviest riffs, a hard rocker that could have easily been a great vocal tune if Berlaffa wanted it to be, his guitar melodies soaring over the intricate riffing. "Elements" is another tune with a great hard rock riff, further proof that Alessio could easily form a more conventional band and come up with great original material suited to feature vocals. Fellow guitar virtuoso Gianluca Ferro shows up to share the spotlight on the shredders delight "Down to Earth", and the blazing progressive metal of "Electric Rain" ends this scorching album on a majestic note.

Remember the name Alessio Berlaffa, another in a fine line of impressive guitar players coming from the fine folks at Lion Music. He's got the chops and he has the songwriting skills to provide a perfect vehicle for his talents. Electric Mist is highly recommended.

Track Listing
1. Overture: Into the Mist
2. Big Sky
3. Seasons
4. Sunrise & Sunset [guest solo Rob Balducci]
5. Echoes of my Land
6. Electric Mist
7. As the River Flows
8. Elements
9. Down to Earth [guest solo Gianluca Ferro]
10. Way to the Sun
11. Electric Rain

Added: January 15th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 1437
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by