Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Squintaloo: Über Bord!

With a name like Squintaloo this band deserves more than a cursory glance. As far as I can tell Über Bord! is the German band's fourth release which have been unbeknownst to me until now. In the band are Heinrich Schiffers (electric guitar, saxophone, synthesizer, musical saw, recorder), Enrico Antico (electric and acoustic guitar, mandolin, synthesizer, 8-string bass), Daniel Eichholz (drums and percussion, vibraphone, bells, marimba) and Klemens Klarhorst (electric and fretless bass).

Okay, first things first. These guys are excellent musicians and their musical creativity shows on each and every track. This is complex instrumental progressive rock played with gusto and pizazz. At times the band skirts the borders of avant prog, especially when the riffs become almost too frantic or when dissonance takes a front seat. The first track "Animal Privateer" starts with a dissonant and eerie soundscape creating a nervous tension unleashed with some heavy and distorted Mastodon-like riffs. Synths are added before the music goes quiet and a pretty acoustic guitar arpeggio leads a dreamier section. The pace quickens again with a collage of disjointed riffs and weird but effective sound effects. An excellent start to the album for anyone who digs complex, adventurous prog. "Nigeraurak's Dream" keeps a frenetic pace before calmer guitar riffs slow it down while "Kara Buran" is a real trip with its spacey synths and trippy guitar progressions. More trippy guitar and synths can be heard on "Zirrostratus" followed by the acoustic guitar led "Elmsfeuer", a very moody and atmospheric tune. There are four more tracks that are as equally intriguing.

For those who appreciate complex instrumental progressive rock you can't go wrong with Über Bord! It is truly excellent!

Track Listing:
1. Animal Privateer (9:52)
2. Nigeraurak's Dream (6:54)
3. Kara Buran (8:02)
4. Zirrostratus (The Fog Wonders) (7:55)
5. Elmsfeuer (2:03)
6. Über Bord (8:23)
7. 3 Kraken (3:33)
8. Fakir Don Pipone (9:59)
9. Peg Leg Copperjaws (8:24)

Added: January 13th 2018
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1446
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by