Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Keifer, Tom: The Way Life Goes (Deluxe Edition)

Cinderella front man/lead guitarist Tom Keifer released his acclaimed debut solo album The Way Life Goes back in 2013, and here we have a deluxe edition from Cleopatra Records containing the full album, bonus tracks, and a DVD with a 30 minute documentary on the making of the album and videos. Much more blues based than Cinderella and with a gentler Keifer as far as the vocals go, The Way Life Goes contains some strong material, and here with all the extras it makes for an even more attractive release for those who missed out on the album back in 2013.

From gritty blues rockers like "Solid Ground" and "Cold Day in Hell" will instantly appeal to fans of The Rolling Stones and more recent Aerosmith, while more rootsy, ballad material such as "Thick and Thin", "Ask Me Yesterday", and "It's Not Enough" are sure to draw in the crossover crowd. Keifer's guitar riffs are front and center on the jagged, Southern Rock styled "Fools Paradise", and the raucous "Mood Elevator" is probably the closest anything here gets to vintage Cinderella, followed closely to the hard rocking "Welcome to My Mind". Though his raspy snarl has definitely mellowed over the years (he also had some major throat problems for a while), he does get down & dirty on the sleazy Aerosmith influenced "Ain't That a Bitch", complete with some sizzling guitar licks and Hammond organ.

As for the bonus content, fans will enjoy the fun documentary and collection of videos, but it's the bonus tracks on the CD portion that are probably of the most interest. Lzzy Hale teams up with Keifer for a stellar remake of "Nobody's Fool", and the leader & his band deliver a rousing take on the Beatles/Joe Cocker classic "With a Little Help From My Friends", both reasons enough to investigate this reissue.

Track Listing
1. Solid Ground
2. A Different Light
3. It's Not Enough
4. Cold Day in Hell
5. Thick and Thin
6. Ask Me Yesterday
7. Fool's Paradise
8. The Flower Song
9. Mood Elevator
10. Welcome to My Mind
11. You Showed Me
12. Ain't That a Bitch
13. The Way Life Goes
14. Babylon
15. Nobody's Fool Feat. Lzzy Hale - Bonus Track
16. With a Little Help from My Friends- Bonus Track
17. Nobody's Fool (Piano Version) - Bonus Track

Added: January 6th 2018
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 1243
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by