Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Evergrey: The Dark Discovery/Solitude, Dominance, Tragedy (reissues)

Thanks to their move to AFM Records a few years ago, veteran Swedish progressive metallers are once again reissuing their first two groundbreaking late 90's releases, The Dark Discovery and Solitude, Dominance, Tragedy. We've reviewed both of these numerous times before, so I'm not going to dive into another track-by-track analysis here, but it goes without saying that if you don't have these two stone cold classics by now, you owe it to yourself to pick up these charming digipack editions. Each CD contains a bonus track demo version of one song, which is probably of minimal interest to most, but it's the sheer power and uniqueness of each album that is the draw here. Back in 1998, there really was no band that combined prog metal, power metal, gothic, and doom all in one nice neat package, and the emotional vocals of Tom Englund still to this day are some of the best in the business.

"Blackened Dawn", "Closed Eyes", "Shadowed", "Solitude Within", "Nosferatu", "She Speaks to the Dead", and "Damnation" are just a few of the absolute gems contained within these albums, the wealth of potent riffs, angelic keyboards, killer lead guitar, crushing rhythms, and powerful vocals just dripping from every crevice. If somehow you've yet to make the 'dark discovery' of Evergrey, you absolutely need to start here with these two mandatory metal releases. You won't regret it.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
The Dark Discovery
01. Blackened Dawn
02. December 26th
03. Dark Discovery
04. As Light Is Our Darkness
05. Beyond Salvation
06. Closed Eyes
07. Trust And Betrayal
08. Shadowed
09. When The River Calls
10. For Every Tear That Falls
11. To Hope Is To Fear
12. Closed Eyes (Demo Version)

Solitude, Dominance, Tragedy
01. Solitude Within
02. Nosferatu
03. The Shocking Truth
04. A Scattered Me
05. She Speaks To The Dead
06. When Darkness Falls
07. Words Mean Nothing
08. Damnation
09. The Corey Curse
10. To Hope Is To Fear (Demo Version)

Added: December 22nd 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1399
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by