Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

DC Sound Collective: The Sea Is So Wide And My Boat Is So Small

DC Sound Collective, the brainchild of multi-instrumentalist Daniel Crommie serves as an outlet for Crommie to work with different musicians including former members of British rock band Jade Warrior. On the new album The Sea Is So Wide And My Boat Is So Small Crommie (flutes, keyboards, harmonica, drums) is joined by Jade Warrior alumnus Colin Henzon (electric guitar) as well as Eldon Hardenbrook (bass, keyboards, guitars, drums), Bruce Hazen (electric guitar), Leslie Gray (violin and viola), Michael Maldonado (soprano sax), Bo Parker (tongue drums), Jamie Haggerty (atmospherics) and Bruce Gelman (scaldis).

If you are familiar with Crommie's work The Sea Is So Wide And My Boat Is So Small won't come as a surprise. It's a very moody and atmospheric work sometimes heading into a kind of dark ambience that many will find pleasant for late night listening. The first track "K-219" begins with shimmering keys and Crommie's flute adding a touch of folk. The bass is very prevalent and there is some nice acoustic/electric guitar as well. "Tradewind" follows with an intro of animal noises and keys having a retro Floyd feel before the ambient soundscape takes on darker tones. More nice guitar and Eastern themed flute rounds out the track. Atmosphere and mood are again exemplified in the guitar work on the mellow "Umbriel". When present the drum beat adds a certain world music vibe. The disc ends with "Apophis 3" clocking in at a whopping thirty-six minutes. Flowing guitar solos amidst a sublime electronic back drop makes this one a noteworthy epic. You will also hear nice acoustic guitar and flute melodies in the more tranquil moments as well as more ominous tones in the darker mood laden ambient sections.

Crommie again proves to be a talented artist and has made another fine album to add to his massive discography. This likely won't garner new fans but those who have liked past efforts will surely appreciate this new endeavour.

Track Listing:
1. K-219
2. Tradewind
3. Umbriel
4. El Faro
5. Apophis 3

Added: December 20th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 717
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by