Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shakra: Snakes & Ladders

Swiss hard rock/metal act Shakra first burst on the scene with their self-titled debut way back in 1998, and they've since released ten additional studio albums, including this latest for AFM Records, Snakes & Ladders. This new one is also the second with vocalist Mark Fox back in the fold, who rejoined for 2016's High Noon after being away from the band for six years. The band seem to have settled back into a familiar groove, as Snakes & Ladders is full of all the hook laden melodic metal and hard rock that we've come to expect from the guys, with Fox's gravelly vocals leading the charge over plenty of crunchy riffs and tight rhythms. "Cassandra's Curse" kicks off the album in fine fashion, an anthemic, melodic metal gem with a great hook and lots of tasty riffs courtesy of Thom Blunier & Thomas Muster. It also happens to be the strongest cut on the album, though I don't want to undermine the rest of the tracks as they really are quite solid as well. "Friday Nightmare" and the title cut rock hard with hooks galore, and "Something You Don't Understand" is a melodic song that all the ladies in the house will appreciate. "Rollin' " features some sleazy vocals & guitar work, a can't miss for any '80s hard rock fan, and bright, upbeat rockers like "Medicine Man", "The Seeds", and "I Will Rise Again" (more cowbell) again seem straight out of a 1987 time capsule.

At 12 songs, there's a lot of material here on Snakes & Ladders, and truth be told, trimming a track or two might have made a lot of sense to tighten things up a little, but overall this a fun album that won't win any awards for breaking new ground yet still pushes all the right buttons. Well done.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01-Cassandra's Curse 5:27
02-Friday Nightmare 3:18
03-Snakes & Ladders 3:50
04-Something You Don 't Understand 4:00
05 -The_Seeds 4:17
06 - Rollin' 3:39
07-Medicine Man 3:27
08-I Will Rise Again 4:25
09-Open Water 4:35
10-The Race Of My Life 3:33
11-Fire In My Veins 4:47
12-The End Of Days 5:02

Added: December 18th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1178
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by