Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Death Toll 80K: Step Down

This is one of those albums that's been in the works for several years, building not only anticipation, but also rumor and speculation. Will we ever hear the long-promised new music? Now that it's here, all I can suggest is don't get comfortable: this album will either provoke massive discomfort or just make it impossible to relax. The band's first album garnered attention because it was raw where other bands were dull. This album is just like that. Most of the tracks here are so short you'll miss them if your mind wanders. Still, even the most casual listener will quickly get the idea. This is raw and powerful grindcore, fueled by screams, growls, and restless beats. It's good but exhausting. I liked "Abolish Fur Farms" best—and not just because the title is also a tongue-twister. Try saying it 10 times as fast as you can. "Hydra" was also really good.

Track Listing:
1. Panopticon
2. Walls
3. Trampled
4. Process
5. Repeating Failures
6. Abolish Fur Farms
7. Step Down
8. Statistics
9. Leeches
10. Lack of Perspective
11. Cause Avoid
12. Hydra
13. Diminish
14. Trickle Down
15. Binary
16. Silent Approval
17. Blame the Victim

Added: December 12th 2017
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Bandcamp Page
Hits: 638
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by