Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Koch, Greg: Unprepentant

Greg Koch is quickly becoming one of the 'must see' guitarists on the scene. The 'master of the Telecaster' has developed quite a following based on his youtube videos for Colorado's Wildwood Guitars, and with his previous recordings, live work, guitar magazine columns, instructional videos, and recent endorsement with Koch amps, it's safe to say that Greg Koch is all over the map these days. Unrepentant is his 2017 release, and contains a selection of tracks recorded with various line-ups over the last 8 years. Also featured on the album are bassists Eric Hervey, Tom Good, Kevin Mushel, and Garrett Sayers, drummers Dylan Koch (his son), Del Bennett, Gary Koehler, and Andrew E., trombonist Darren Kramer, and keyboard player Theo Merriweather.

The songs are a mix of groove laden blues, funk, and fiery rock, led by Koch's tasty yet off kilter riffs & solos. For those unaware, Koch has an incredible sense of humor, and that translates into the music and song titles. "Welchz Grape" is a quirky yet monstrous blues/funk/rock excursion, Koch's menacing tone battling Merriweather's organ in classic fashion, the solos explosive and deadly. "Funk Force Five" has a wealth of groove and some Stevie Ray Vaughan inspired lead work, while "Rocky Mountain Gristle" adds in some horns and sizzling chicken picking for a real wild ride. The lengthy slow blues of "Sweet Tea" goes from majestic to explosive, with searing guitar & organ solos, Koch reminding of Hendrix & Trower with his blistering runs, and the pure funk of "Goon" sees the guitarist channeling the late, great Terry Kath. Scorching Telecaster & organ once again battle on the rousing "Night Owl Now", and the album closes with the hard rocking title track, again littered with white hot licks from Koch and tons of groove.

Though Greg Koch might not yet be a household name, with accolades coming in from all over the world, and especially from many of his fellow guitarists, it won't be long before this exceptional player gets the recognition his talents deserve. Check out this very fine instrumental release, as well as the upcoming Koch-Marshall Trio album in early 2018 on Mascot Label Group.

Track Listing
1. Welchz Grape 07:04
2. Funk Force Five 03:09
3. Rocky Mountain Gristle 03:29
4. Sweet Tea 09:59
5. Goon 04:21
6. Night Owl Now (instrumental version) 04:00
7. Unrepentant 05:12

Added: December 10th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist @Bandcamp
Hits: 1599
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by