Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mangoo: The Heat

Small Stone Records is once again proud to release another album from Finnish hard rockers Mangoo, titled The Heat. Their third full-length, The Heat packs in 11 dramatic, hard hitting songs that bridge '70s styled hard rock, psychedelia, space rock, prog, grunge, and a touch of classic metal. Comprised of Pickles (Vocals, guitar), Nicke (Keyboards, programming, vocals, percussion), Mattarn (Guitar, backing vocals), Igor (Bass, vocals) and Teemu (Drums, backing vocals), Mangoo have one foot firmly planted in the glory days of yesteryear, the other in 2017, making for an exciting sound that delivers big time throughout The Heat.

A track like "Beyond the Sky" just drips with hard rocking, psychedelic brilliance, the guitars ringing mightily through Orange amps, the keyboards trippy, the bass looming large, the drums percolating, and the myriad of vocals just floating nicely over the top. Other tunes tell a heavier story, such as the frantic "Refief", and the groove laden "Get Away", while "Monolith" throws in some doom and funk elements for a completely different beast. "One Day" brings to mind vintage Soundgarden, Pickels soaring to the heavens with his potent vocal delivery and surrounded by some beefy riffs and scorching synth lines, and "Deification" follows suit, a long lost sibling to "Jesus Christ Pose" from the Seattle legends. Things are cranked up another notch on the fuzz & feedback soaked "Tiembla", a real headbanging tune that is sung in their native tongue, and the lengthy title track offers up perhaps the albums greatest sense of drama, as powerful riffs, crushing rhythms, and kick ass vocals stab through the thick atmosphere and doomy ambience. Just to show you they can also partake in some tongue in cheek moments, Mangoo do a cover of the Eddie Murphy hit "Party All the Time", complete with plenty of fuzz and hard rock attitude.

As another example of just how much good music is coming out of Scandinavia these days, The Heat is another winner from the folks at Small Stone. Mangoo are more than deserving of your attention, so make sure you don't miss this one.

Track Listing
1. Relief 03:47
2. Get Away 04:19
3. Beyond The Sky 06:04
4. Monolith 04:07
5. One Day 04:07
6. Deification 04:47
7. Tiembla 05:01
8. Stumbling Man 04:42
9. The Heat 07:14
10. Grey Belly 04:54
11. Party All The Time 04:16

Added: December 3rd 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1975
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by