Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Ed Palermo Big Band: The Adventures of Zodd Zundgren

Who else but The Ed Palermo Big Band would think to record an album with old favorites from Frank Zappa as well as Todd Rundgren, two musical geniuses whose works are completely different but oddly similar? In the hands of Palermo and his extended band, piece of cake. The Adventures of Zodd Zundgren is his latest release for Cuneiform Records, and in addition to returning back to Zappa staples, for which the band are known for, interspersed are renditions of Rundgren cuts, both classic and more obscure, adding an even more intriguing element to the mix.

With 24 total tracks, there's a lot to sink your teeth into here, but it's all splendid from start to finish, the big band arrangements highly engaging with jaw dropping musical explorations every step of the way. Check out the guitar pyrotechnics on Zappa's "Big Swifty", the raucous take on Todd's "Yer Fast" and a dreamy "Influenza"...stunning stuff. Some of the Zappa staples are incredible in the hands of this band, including "Montanta", "Peaches En Regalia", "Florentine Pogen", "Echidna's Arf (Of You)", and a wild, violin soaked "You Are What You Is", but the real surprise will be soaring, jazz interpretations of Rundgren classics "Hello It's Me", "Wailing Wall", and "Broke Down and Busted", plus a quirky take on "Song of the Viking". It's all loads of fun, and performed impeccably, the horns blasting, the reeds sizzling, the guitars & violin nimble, and the vocals spot on. If you've enjoyed The Ed Palermo Big Band before, here they've added some Todd Rundgren to their usual Frank Zappa repertoire and the results are mind blowing. Recommended!

The Ed Palermo Big Band:
Rakishly Ribald Reeds: Cliff Lyons, Phil Chester, Bill Straub, Ben Kono, Barbara Cifelli
Triumphant Trumpets: Ronnie Buttacavoli, John Bailey, Steve Jankowski, Steve Jankowski
Terrifying Trombones: Charley Gordon, Mike Boschen, Matt Ingman
Pulsating Piano: Bob Quaranta
Scintillating Synth/Sampler: Ted Kooshian
Browbeating Bass: Paul Adamy
Dare-Devil Drums: Ray Marchica
Iconic Electric And Acoustic Violins, Villainous Vocals: Katie Jacoby
Gallant Guitar And Valorous Vocals: Bruce Mcdaniel

Track Listing
1. The Solemn Z-Men Credo 00:25
2. Peaches En Regalia (Frank Zappa) 03:19
3. Influenza (Todd Rundgren) 05:50
4. Yer Fast (Todd Rundgren) 01:27
5. Absolutely Free (Frank Zappa) 04:26
6. Breathless (Part 1) (Todd Rundgren) 01:38
7. Big Swifty (Frank Zappa) 01:16
8. Kiddie Boy (Todd Rundgren) 03:43
9. Montana (Frank Zappa) 06:42
10. Emperor of the Highway (Todd Rundgren) 01:38
11. You Are What You Is (Frank Zappa) 01:45
12. Echidna's Arf (Of You) (Frank Zappa) [feat. The Louisiana Swindle Singers] 03:54
13. Hello It's Me (Todd Rundgren) 03:31
14. Big Swifty Coda (Frank Zappa) 01:35
15. Wailing Wall (Todd Rundgren) 04:00
16. Florentine Pogen (Frank Zappa) 07:25
17. Flamingo (Todd Rundgren) 02:23
18. Marqueson's Chicken (Frank Zappa) 03:53
19. Song of the Viking (Todd Rundgren) 01:58
20. Janet's Big Dance Number (Frank Zappa) 01:51
21. Broke Down and Busted (Todd Rundgren) 05:13
22. Breathless (Part 2) (Todd Rundgren) 00:51
23. Zoot Allures (Frank Zappa) 02:50
24. Yer Fast (Reprise) (Todd Rundgren) 00:54

Added: December 3rd 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1463
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by