Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Audrey Horne: Blackout

Audrey Horne are a Hard Rock band that hail from Norway and deliver riff soaked, catchy and fist pumping anthemic Rock. Three years after their last release, Pure Heavy, Audrey Horne have delivered their next chapter, Blackout (Napalm Records), 10 tracks of huge, powerful and get stuck in your head melodies.

Fans of Thin Lizzy type guitar harmonies are in for a real treat, as Audrey Horne throws down an album load of Gorham/Robertson/Moore/White/Sykes styled twin guitar leads that are sure to resonate with Lizzy fans out there and it is an excellent homage to that still much overlooked band of geniuses. A songs like the grooving, "This Man" has an excellent Lynott and company type vibe to it, while the album opener, "This Is War", is a real uptempo of a headbanger with a super catchy chorus and a driving rhythm section. "Satellite" is another really catchy tune with an intro bass line that reminds of the old David Lee Roth solo song, "Stand Up" and then runs into another great twin guitar harmony in the verse that adds dimension to the song. And of course you've got to have that balls to wall, barnstormer of a song and that is, "Naysayer", where the guitar riff is upfront and center and pushes this song up to the redline.

With 10 catchy songs that are filled with great riffs, great performances all around and a twin guitar harmony attack like the 70's, Audrey Horne's Blackout is an easy record to instantly like and play over and over again. If you dig bands like Thin Lizzy, early Iron Maiden, UFO and late 70's/early '80's Hard Rock bands you will dig these guys. Audrey Horne are a powerful, heavy and melodic band that plays it right in your face and you can't go wrong with that! Also, if you are a Twin Peaks fan, you will also instantly be intrigued by the name of the band, as I certainly was. David Lynch Rules!

Audrey Horne:
Torjell Rφd Vocals
Arve Isdal Guitar
Thomas Tofthagen Guitar
Kjetil Greve Drums
Espen Lien Bass

Track Listing

  1. This is War
  2. Audrevolution
  3. Blackout
  4. This Man
  5. Midnight Man
  6. Light Your Way
  7. California
  8. Satellite
  9. Naysayer
  10. Rose Alley

Added: December 2nd 2017
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1860
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by