Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sweet & Lynch: Unified

The pairing of vocalist/guitarist Michael Sweet (Stryper, ex-Boston) and guitar hero George Lynch (ex-Dokken, Lynch Mob, KXM) produced a very strong Frontiers Records debut back in 2015, and the duo, along with bassist James Lomenzo (Black Label Society, ex-Megadeth, ex-White Lion) and drummer Brian Tichy (ex-Whitesnake, ex-The Dead Daisies) are back with the follow-up, simply titled Unified.

Here we have another supergroup that really works, and Unified is every bit as good as Only to Rise, if not better. Sounding mostly different than the members other bands, Sweet & Lynch plays up to all their talents and throws in plenty of twists and turns. "Promised Land" kicks things off with some fiery guitar riffs, a commanding vocal from Sweet, and some ferocious lead guitar courtesy of Lynch, as the band deliver a real headbanger to open up the album. "Walk" is more of a catchy rocker filled with hooks, while the darker "Afterlife" has some serious bottom end and tasty blues rock solos from Lynch, with Sweet's still strong vocals soaring over the top. A nod to Lynch Mob pops up on the raging, bluesy "Make Your Mark", with Sweet screaming up a storm amid furious rhythms and slashing guitar licks, Lynch firing off a mercurial solo that just explodes out of your speakers. The guys slow things down for the bluesy pop number "Tried & True" and the trippy '60s/psych flavored title track, Sweet sounding not unlike legendary ex-Styx vocalist Dennis DeYoung, while "Find Your Way" is grinding, gritty metallic blues rock, the grooves huge and the riffs nasty. Though the back end of the CD loses a little steam, look for the majestic "Bridge of Broken Lies", tune with plenty of guitar textures and Sweet's potent vocals, and the Led Zeppelin influenced stomper that is album closer "Live to Die".

If you've followed all these individuals in the many other bands they've spent time with, chances are you'll get a lot of enjoyment out of Unified. Michael Sweet is still a major vocal talent, Tichy & Lomenzo prove to be a formidable rhythm team, and Lynch, well, he's Lynch, still a legendary guitar hero. Good stuff all around!

Track Listing
01 Promised Land 4:13
02 Walk 5:38
03 Afterlife 5:05
04 Make Your Mark 4:06
05 Tried & True 4:14
06 Unified 4:27
07 Find Your Way 4:23
08 Heart Of Fire 4:15
09 Bridge Of Broken Lies 4:39
10 Better Man 5:03
11 Live To Die 4:16

Added: November 22nd 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1469
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by