Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cannibal Corpse: Red Before Black

Red Before Black has got to be one of the catchiest death metal albums I've heard in a while. We all know the history of Cannibal Corpse, perhaps one of the most recognizable extreme metal acts of the last 20 years, but certainly not a band whose music you'd normally associate as 'accessible'. Well, I don't mean to say that Red Before Black contains songs you'd hear on hit radio or anything like that, but for an album that is this ferocious, there are some addicting grooves to be found amid the manic & pulverizingly heavy arrangements. George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher is at his bellowing best throughout this album, laying down his maniacal growls on the raging "Remained", firing expletives all over the place on the death metal gem that is "Code of the Slashers", and spewing no shortage of venom on the supercharged "Shedding My Human Skin". Of course, the twin guitar attack of Pat O'Brien and Rob Barrett are blazingly great as always, with a non stop assortment of twisting, crunchy riffs and acrobatic solos, heard to perfection on "Heads Shoveled Off" and the fiery title track, while the dynamic rhythm team of bassist extraordinaire Alex Webster and human octopus drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz ably assist on the boiling stew pot of death that is "Corpus Delicti".

Another fine example of just how 'ready made for the mosh pit' this album is can be found in "In the Midst of Ruin", a can't miss death metal classic with killer grooves and stunning, technical guitar work. Much of the album is Cannibal Corpse at their intricate, brutal best, but when you toss in the immediacy of the songwriting and the accessibility of the grooves, you wind up getting a death metal release that is going to be among 2017s very best. Well done as always guys!

Track Listing

  1. Only One Will Die 3:24
  2. Red Before Black 3:12
  3. Code of the Slashers 4:46
  4. Shedding My Human Skin 3:29
  5. Remaimed 4:14
  6. Firestorm Vengeance 3:43
  7. Heads Shoveled Off 3:37
  8. Corpus Delicti 3:29
  9. Scavenger Consuming Death 4:33
  10. In the Midst of Ruin 3:26
  11. Destroyed Without a Trace 4:01
  12. Hideous Ichor 4:34

Added: November 21st 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1485
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by