Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Agusa: Agusa

Swedish prog/psych/folk act Agusa literally knocked us on our asses back in 2015 with the release of their sophomore album for Lasers Edge, simply titled Agusa 2, and now here they are two years later with their third opus, oddly enough titled Agusa. Once again an all-instrumental affair littered with flutes, organ, vintage guitar & amp sounds (and PLENTY of wah-wah!), along with nimble rhythms, the music on Agusa is absolutely enchanting from start to finish. The band have had a few personnel changes recently, but their current configuration consists of:

Tobias Petterson - Bass
Mikael Ödesjö - Guitar
Tim Wallander - Drums
Jeppe Juul - Organ
Jenny Puertas - Flute

Right from the opening gem that is "Landet Langesen", the listener is treated to some truly wonderful sounds, as weaving, wah-wah laced guitar licks and flute float about the arrangement, eventually giving way to "Sorgenfri", a heavier piece complete with a barnstorming organ solo from Juul...just a killer 1-2 punch to kick off the album that encompasses classic progressive rock, folk, and psychedelia, but, it's still charmingly Swedish. The moodier "Den Fortrollade Skogen" follows, as gritty guitar textures and chimes make space for Puertas' gorgeous flute melodies, a seemingly head-on collision of Jethro Tull and Camel with a little Anglagard thrown in for good measure, while the upbeat "Sagor Fran Saaris" carries plenty of bombast thanks to wild flute passages and heavy bass riffing, also noteworthy for a rampaging organ solo and scorching lead guitar courtesy of Ödesjö. The lengthy "Bortom Hemom" closes out the show, a lush example of rich prog & folky tones, as acoustic guitar, organ, electric guitar, and tight rhythms slowly build and build towards a majestic finale highlighted by searing flute. Breathtaking stuff to say the least.

Honestly, I could listen to this kind of stuff all day, and it's hard to imagine any prog fan who likes some folk and psych sprinkled into their music NOT falling completely in love with this album. Engaging melodies, commanding musicianship, moments of light as well as shade, and dripping with atmosphere as well as grandiose power, Agusa has it all folks. Lovely, just not miss this album!

Track Listing
1. Landet Langesen 10:30
2. Sorgenfri 05:00
3. Den Fortrollade Skogen 08:34
4. Sagor Fran Saaris 09:21
5. Bortom Hemom 10:19

Added: November 19th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2008
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by