Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Bell Witch: Mirror Reaper

The duo known as Bell Witch are back with their latest effort of monolithic doom, sludge, and post-rock, the single track epic titled Mirror Reaper. Over the course of just over 80 minutes, Dylan Desmond (bass, vocals) and Jesse Shreibman (drums, vocals, organ) plow and meander through a continuous dirge that doesn't often deviate from its funeral pace. Though there are many passages of tranquil, meditative atmosphere, they are shattered by booming bass riffs and tribal drumming, the mix of haunting clean vocals and harsh rasps & growls floating over the top. Remember, there's no guitar here, so Bell Witch have to create their wall of sound with what little they have. That in itself is part of the problem with Mirror Reaper; it's just way too long, with little going on, and basically just kind of drifts along endlessly. The presence of organ in spots is a nice touch, but unfortunately it's not enough. Cut this bloated piece down to 35 or 40 minutes, toss in some herculean guitar riffs and even a few guitar solos, and you have a different beast altogether. The concept is a good one, but overall the arrangement simply needed some fleshing out.

Track Listing
1) Mirror Reaper (1:23:15)

Added: November 18th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 365
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by