Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Black Sabbath: The End (Blu-ray/CD)

Is it really 'the end'? Time will tell of course, but the official word out of the Black Sabbath camp is that this recent world tour is indeed the end of the line for the fabled kings of heavy metal. This commemorative Blu-ray/CD set from Eagle Vision documents the bands final show in Birmingham at the Genting Arena on February 4th, 2017, basically the place where it all began, so what better locale to call it a career than back home. In front of thousands of fans, Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler, Tommy Clufetos, and Adam Wakeman rip into many Sabbath classics from throughout their '70s catalog, perhaps for the very last time. Included here is the full concert on Blu-ray, along with a companion CD that contains some rehearsal tracks of songs that didn't make the live cut, which are also included in video as bonus features on the Blu-ray. Different packages are available, so if you want the full concert on CD or LP, those are available as well.

Having seen Black Sabbath a few times on this lengthy The End tour, I can attest to the power that this band can still bring, and it's evident here from start to finish as well. While those that still crave the favorites like "Iron Man", "Paranoid", "War Pigs", "Black Sabbath", and "Children of the Grave" can enjoy them once again, it's the deeper album cuts that really stand out, such as "After Forever", "Under the Sun", "Into the Void", "Snow Blind", "Hand of Doom", and "Dirty Women", making this a memorable set filled with classics. Prior to a Clufetos drum solo, the guys even rip into an instrumental medley of "Supernaut/Sabbath Bloody Sabbath/Megalomania/Rat Salad" that is a real treat for long time fans. Through it all, Ozzy is at his maniacal best, mugging for the camera and audience with all sorts of demented facial expressions while Geezer thunders away and Iommi delivers one mighty riff after another. The Angelic Sessions was recorded & filmed in a rehearsal studio, and shows the band launching into gems such as "The Wizard", "Wicked World", "Sweet Leaf", "Tomorrow's Dream", and "Changes"...worth the price of admission if you ask me. It's just a shame they didn't include these songs in their live set. Also, sadly missing are songs from their reunion studio album 13, which they included early on in the tour but dropped at the latter half.

Filmed to perfection with top notch camera work, hi-definition video, and stellar sound, The End is a must have for any Black Sabbath fan, though also a tad bittersweet seeing as it's basically 'the end' of an era. Long Live Black Sabbath!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01. Black Sabbath
02. Fairies Wear Boots
03. Under the Sun / Every Day Comes And Goes
04. After Forever
05. Into the Void
06. Snowblind
07. Band Intros
08. War Pigs
09. Behind the Wall of Sleep
10. Bassically / N.I.B.
11. Hand of Doom
12. Supernaut / Sabbath Bloody Sabbath / Megalomania
13. Rat Salad / Drum Solo
14. Iron Man
15. Dirty Women
16. Children of the Grave
17. Paranoid

01. The Wizard
02. Wicked World
03. Sweet Leaf
04. Tomorrow's Dream
05. Changes

Added: November 17th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1891
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by