Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats: Vol. 1

Originally self-released back in 2010, Vol. 1 has become a much sought after album for fans of the now fairly well known stoner act Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats. Recorded with minimal budget and no promotion, this debut from Uncle Acid (also known as Kevin Starrs) and his crew of Deadbeats was a true 'do it yourself' project, their love for all things Black Sabbath, Alice Cooper, and The Beatles shining through in all its primitive glory. Now, with a few albums to their credit, Starrs has decided to revisit, remaster, and remix Vol. 1 for an official release on Rise Above Records, and the world is now a better place for it!

While a bit more raw and unpolished when compared to its siblings that came after it, Vol. 1 still contains all the Uncle Acid elements we've come to love over the years. Those high pitched vocals, the fuzz toned stoner/doom riffs, the psychedelic keyboards, and the addicting hooks & melodies are ever present throughout the album. "Crystal Spiders" has that charming, horror-rock element that seems clearly influenced by Alice Cooper, while the bruising Sabbath styled riffs come out to play on the heavy "Witches Garden" and the brooding "Lonely and Strange". "Vampire Circus" is another lurid, tongue in cheek horror themed gem, while "Do What Your Love Tells You" amps up the fuzz to 11 for a wonderful, groove laden ride to Stonerville. The massive guitars do battle with creepy organ on the raging "I Don't Know", and the upbeat "Wind Up Toys" closes things out in bizarre fashion, sort of like The Beatles meets the MC5 with a touch of Alice Cooper.

It's not hard to become intoxicated with the deliciously devilish mix of stoner, psychedelia, doom, pop, and hard rock that Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats bring to the table, and now the masses can finally hear where it all started. Vol. 1 might be the band in their infancy, but it's still mighty fun.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Crystal Spiders
2. Witches Garden
3. Dead Eyes of London
4. Lonely and Strange
5. Vampire Circus
6. Do What Your Love Tells You
7. I Don't Know
8. Wind Up Toys

Added: November 4th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1225
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by