Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tegelman, Pekka: Quartegal

Some might remember Finnish guitarist Pekka Tegelman from his stint in the late '70s prog/jazz-fusion act Finnforest, who released a few albums on the Love Records label, but it's only in recent years that that he's returned to instrumental jazz based music, and here we have his latest album with his new quartet, Quartegal. The band is comprised of Pekka Tegelman (electric and acoustic guitars, piano and keyboards, voices) Markku Ounaskari (drums), Manuel Dunkel (soprano and tenor saxophones), Tero Siitonen (double bass), with additional musicians Pete Korpela (congas and miscellaneous percussions), and Jussi Tegelman (second drums on one track, additional percussion.)

Quite different than the blistering jazz-rock of Finnforest days, Pekka and Quartegal deliver melodic acoustic based jazz, with the leader occasionally plugging in his electric guitar for some added fire. His skills on the acoustic guitar are impeccable, those nimble fingers flying up and down the fretboard on "All Folks" and "Two Towns" alongside some intricate rhythms and Dunkel's soaring saxophone flights. The sax player lets loose on "Big Tremelo", a song that also sees a tasty extended electric guitar solo from Tegelman, and Siitonen contributes a silky double bass solo on the laid back "When Ying Goes Yang", another highly melodic track with some great instrumental hooks. The leader contributes some piano as well as tender acoustic guitar strains on the lovely "Song 1: The Dawn", and the quartet rock it up a bit on the bluesy "Time to Time", complete with jagged electric guitar, heavy grooves, and insistent sax melodies. Tegelman's guitar solo is blazing on this one, dripping with distortion and plenty of fire. The album ends with the majestic sounds of "Song 2: The Twilight", Pekka's gorgeous acoustic guitar and Dunkel's sax closing things out in gentle fashion.

Plenty of expert musicianship and haunting melodies to be found throughout this new release from Pekka Tegelman and his band Quartegal. While some might have liked a little more Pekka on his electric guitar, there's just enough here to satisfy, as his acoustic work is quite impressive and stands on its own. Recommended.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. All Folks 5:28
2. Do Ra Mi 5:02
3. Two Towns 3:54
4. Big Tremolo 6:14
5. When Ying Goes Yang 4:09
6. Song 1: The Dawn 2:20
7. Path 3:29
8. Time To Time 5:34
9. Song 2: The Twilight 5:07

Added: October 29th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist Facebook Page
Hits: 1707
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by