Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kaipa: Children of the Sounds

Children of the Sounds is the 13th studio album from legendary Swedish progressive rock act Kaipa, now basically the vehicle for founding member & keyboard player Hans Lundin and his talented bandmates Per Nilsson (guitars), Patrik Lundstrom (vocals), Aleena Gibson (vocals), Jonas Reingold (bass), and Morgan Agren (drums). Of course, there is also another faction, Kaipa DaCapo, featuring the rest of the original band bassist Tomas Eriksson, guitarist Roine Stolt, and drummer Ingemar Bergman, but that's a story we've covered before, so we won't go there now. This current version of Kaipa proper have released numerous albums, and this latest Children of the Sounds is another quality platter of classic symphonic progressive rock through and through.

Chock full of Lundin's massive array of vintage keyboard sounds, a multi-faceted vocal display, and blazing lead guitar work from the Scar Symmetry/Nocturnal Rites/Meshuggah virtuoso Nilsson, there's lots to sink your teeth into here. The opening, near 12-minute title track pushes all the right prog buttons, with Lundin & Nilsson duking it out with reckless abandon amid some splendid melodies. While Lundstrom & Gibson share vocals throughout most of the album, I'm finding Aleena's singing a little rougher here than on previous releases. Her normally silky smooth and angelic voice has an edge here that's not quite as pleasing when compared to her past work, but it's not harsh by any means. Patrik though is in fine form, especially on the engaging "On the Edge of New Horizons", also a great vehicle for more great guitar & keyboard solos plus the always acrobatic rhythm work from Reingold & Agren. "Like a Serpentine" is lush and melodic, with some blazing Lundin synth solos, while the folky strains of "The Shadowy Sunlight" offers a change from the bombastic prog and allows Gibson to offer up her best vocal performance on the album. Beefy Hammond organ and blistering electric guitar highlights the majestic closer "What's Behind The Fields", which also features some gorgeous guest violin and a sinewy bass solo courtesy of Reingold.

Now eight albums into the second phase of their career, Kaipa shows no signs of slowing down, as Hans Lundin and Co. have once again delivered a mighty fine slice of vintage sounding prog-rock for InsideOut Records. Check it out in all its epic glory.

Track Listing
1. Children Of The Sounds (11:31)
2. On The Edge Of New Horizons (17:10)
3. Like A Serpentine (12:52)
4. The Shadowy Sunlight (6:57)
5. What's Behind The Fields (9:31)

Added: October 28th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1497
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by