Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kadavar: Rough Times

German fuzz masters Kadavar are back with their fourth studio album, and third for Nuclear Blast, titled Rough Time, but don't let the title fool you, as Lupus Lindemann (guitar, vocals), Simon 'Dragon' Bouteloup (bass), and Tiger (drums) are one again up to their old tricks, creating some seriously fun vintage styled heavy rock & doom for our listening pleasure.

The first thing you'll notice here on Rough Times is that the trio have upped their game in terms of laying down the fuzz tones on the guitars and increasing the overall bottom end. I mean, there's some serious groove here folks, which you can hear right off the bat on the heavy thumpers "Rough Times", "Into the Wormhole", and "Skeleton Blues". Though of course there are still the ever present Black Sabbath, Pentagram, and Saint Vitus comparisons, bits of Hawkwind, Budgie, and even Cactus pop up from time to time here, and "Vampires" even seems to go in some directions that we would expect from contemporaries like Ghost and Uncle Acid & the Deadbeats. The upbeat, stoner vibes of "Tribulation Nation" and the Blue Oyster Cult meets MC5 attack of "Worlds of Evil" reveal plenty of ominous vocals and a wealth of tasty guitar riffing, while the bluesy "The Lost Child" is pure Southern rock, a must hear for any Lynyrd Skynyrd fan. To show that they aren't afraid to dive into new territory, there's the lovely slice of psychedelia titled "You Found the Best in Me", chock full of dreamy vocals, electric piano, organ, mesmerizing bass, and heavy riffs. If that's not enough to grab you, the final cut here is a cover of The Beatles "Helter Skelter", done in a fashion that would make Iggy Pop & the Stooges proud.

Plenty varied with elements of their tried and true formula mixed with some blues rock, prog, and psych, Rough Times is another great release from this German trio who continue to push the boundaries of their proto metal sound.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing 1
- Rough Times 3:38
2 - Into The Wormhole 4:17
3 - Skeleton Blues 4:24
4 - Die Baby Die 4:18
5 - Vampires 4:48
6 - Tribulation Nation 5:04
7 - Words Of Evil 3:37
8 - The Lost Child 5:52
9 - You Found The Best In Me 4:58
10 - A L'Ombre Du Temps 3:57

Added: October 22nd 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1715
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by