Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

End of the Dream: Until You Break

Symphonic metal is a genre that has almost gone beyond the super saturation point filled to the brim with great bands and those that aren't quite as adept. My latest discovery in the genre is the Dutch band End of the Dream and their sophomore album Until You Break.

The band formed in 2013 and in 2014 released their debut album All I Am. In the band are Armen Shamelian (lead guitar, keyboards, grand piano), Micky Huijsman (lead and backing vocals), Robin van Ekeren (guitar), Tim van den Hooven (bass guitar) and Pim Geraets (drums and percussion). The album was produced and mixed by Joost van den Broek (Sun Caged, Star One, Ayreon, After Forever).

I have good news for you. You can add this band to the good side of symphonic metal. First and foremost are the lead vocals of Micky Huijsman. She has a great voice, very crisp and clean and perfectly suited for the genre. I like the fact she doesn't over sing or go for that ultra-high falsetto. There are enough bands that do that already and my ears tend to get fatigued after a while. She sings very naturally and has a nice free flowing delivery and of course is spot on as far as pitch is concerned. Much of the melody comes directly from her. Of course she is working with four other musicians who are pretty good in their own right. Shamelian lays down many a catchy riff and supplies some haunting keyboards in just the right spots and the rhythm section is certainly solid if not flashy.

The one-two punch of the title track and "Who Do You Think You Are" begin the album with supremely catchy symphonic metal featuring great riffs and vocals. "Erase Me" is more dramatic and adventurous with riffs bursting through a moody keyboard soundscape. Again, the lead vocals are terrific. The heaviness is toned down with the pretty "Wakeless" and the equally melodic "The Heart In Me", with the former being perhaps the biggest earworm on the disc. The acoustic led "I Am Nothing" is another winner with the focus on the band's softer side. The disc ends with the emotive "The Light" where piano and soaring vocals are the highlights.

Until You Break should satisfy any and all fans of symphonic metal as the band has put together eleven solid tracks that will hook you almost immediately. Released on Painted Bass Records.

Track Listing:
1. Until You Break (4:01)
2. Who Do You Think You Are (5:02)
3. Erase Me (4:19)
4. Wakeless (6:37)
5. The Heart In Me (3:56)
6. I Am Nothing (4:42)
7. Defile (5:30)
8. From Your Sky (4:44)
9. In My Hands (5:22)
10. Your Poison (5:52)
11. The Light (4:57)

Added: October 19th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1360
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by