Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Opposing Motion: Inertia

2017 has been an excellent year for progressive metal, with acts like Prospekt, Anubis Gate, Threshold, Damnations Day, Anthriel, Ayreon, Until Rain, and a host of others releasing some stellar albums that show the genre still firing on all cylinders. We can safely add French act Opposing Motion to this list, as their sophomore Lion Music effort Inertia is a blazing example of dramatic prog-metal that touches on all the elements of what fans love about this kind of music. Featuring 11 tracks produced by DGM's Simone Mularoni, Inertia contains a wealth of soaring vocal melodies, ripping guitar work, beds of atmospheric keyboards, and rock solid rhythms. Most importantly, memorable songs, with all the jaw dropping musicianship that this band proudly displayed on their debut.

Guitarist Joe McGurk leads the charge on the energetic opener "Endless Ripples", a must hear for any fan of Dream Theater, Vanden Plas, and Circus Maximus, and it doesn't let up from there. "Ghost Tapestry" and the stunning title track are highlighted by some wonderful vocals courtesy of Ludo DeSa, just the right amount of keyboards, and some tasty, complex arrangements that sees guitars blazing left and right, drums flailing, and bass booming. The brothers Deplance, David and Kevin, do a masterful job throughout on bass and drums, especially on the killer "Machines of War", the melodic yet complex "Windows to the Past", the crunchy "Optical Illusion" (also a great workout for McGurk), and the epic 9+ minute closer "Across the Oceans of Sands". Though Inertia is very much a 'metal' album, the bands ability to lay on the prog pretty thick, as well as the occasional fusion passage (check out the awesome track "Mirror Image" for both) keeps things going pretty smoothly on what is ultimately a pretty long album with a lot to digest. Opposing Motion has balanced adventurous, demanding material with memorable hooks, making for a rewarding listening experience.

So, all you prog-metal lovers out there who are looking for the next 'big thing', make sure you don't miss this beast of a band from the Lion Music stable. Virtuoso musicianship abounds (McGurk is a supreme shredder with taste), powerful vocals, complex arrangements, and memorable melodies...all add up to a total winner of an album from this exciting French combo.

Track Listing
1. Endless Ripples 07:12
2. Inertia 05:26
3. Ghost Tapestry 05:33
4. New Heaven 05:40
5. Machines of War 06:27
6. Southern Lights 05:52
7. Windows to the Past 05:44
8. Optical Illusion 04:46
9. Mirror Image 04:08
10. Nothing Stays the Same 05:00
11. Across the Oceans of Sands 09:01

Added: September 30th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1773
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by