Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eden's Curse: Eden's Curse-Revisited

Here we have another stellar package from the folks over at AFM Records, which celebrates the 10 year anniversary of the debut album from UK melodic metal act Eden's Curse, titled for this occasion as Eden's Curse-Revisited. See, the band had a different vocalist back in 2007 in the form of Michael Eden, and he's since been replaced by the very capable Nikola Mijic, who joins other new members drummer John Clelland and keyboard player Christian 'Chrism' Pulkinnen in this revamped version of Eden's Curse, alongside longtime members Thorsten Koehne (guitar) and Paul Logue (bass). While some might scream blasphemy to re-record what many consider a close to classic debut album with a basically completely revamped line-up, the results are actually quite good. Mijic does a fine job belting out these catchier than hell melodic metal anthems, such as "Eyes of the World", "Stronger Than the Flame", "Judgement Day", and the rifftastic "After the Love is Gone". And these guys can get pretty heavy too, with Koehne's guitar crunched to the max on headbangers like "Fly Away", "Don't Bring Me Down", and the majestic "Fallen King". For those who perhaps have only just started following the band on their last few releases, Eden's Curse-Revisited will be a welcome addition to your growing collection. If you thought it was rather odd for the band to continue on as Eden's Curse after their namesake left, well, this new 're-imagining' of their debut might not be of much interest. For my money, they did a great job here, and the album sounds fresh, giving the newer members a chance to show what they can do on it.

Not that these new folks haven't had a chance to already stake their claim on this early material, which the bonus DVD clearly shows, a live concert recorded in Glassgow that is a virtual 'greatest hits' set of Eden's Curse material up to now. Listed as an 'official bootlet' the quality of the sound and video is actually quite good, the band ripping into staples such as "Black Widow", "Break the Silence", "Angels & Demons" as well as a host of others including songs from this debut. If you just can't get enough Eden's Curse in your life, here is plenty more. Recommended.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01. Book Of Life (Intro)
02. Judgement Day
03. Eyes Of The World
04. Stronger Than The Flame
05. The Voice Inside
06. After The Love Is Gone
07. Fly Away
08. What Are You Waiting For
09. Eden's Curse
10. Don't Bring Me Down
11. Heaven Touch Me
12. The Bruce (Intro)
13. Fallen King
14. We All Die Young

Disc II: Live In Glasgow Official Bootleg (DVD)
01. Symphony Of Sin
02. Break The Silence
03. Masquerade Ball
04. Black Widow
05. Trinity
06. Fly Away
07. Just Like Judas
08. Fallen From Grace
09. Jerusalem Sleeps
10. Guitar Solo
11. Time To Breathe
12. Rock Bottom
13. Devil In Disguise
14. Wings To Fly
15. No Holy Man
16. Unbreakable
17. Judgement Day
18. Evil & Divine
19. Angels & Demons

Added: September 24th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1456
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by