Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Yang: The Failure Of Words

Yang is a French progressive rock project that released their first album A Complex Nature in 2004. Their follow up Machines came out in 2010 and was my introduction to the band. They are back with a brand new disc titled The Failure Of Words. And like Machines the band has created an innovative rock album with traces of metal and jazz showcasing wonderful musicianship and intriguing melodies. Often intricate and angular guitar lines swirl amongst heavier riffs creating some great melodies in the process. Keyboards are also used although not so much as a lead instrument but to enhance the soundscape in a more subtle way.

"El Diablo" opens the album in pure rock fashion although the slightly angular guitar lines and the off kilter rhythms make this more intelligent than a typical rock song. The playing has an exotic feel and there are some unexpected rhythmic patterns that up the complexity level. "Six Four Five" is a slower tune with absorbing acoustic and electric guitar that is really quite pretty to listen to. The clean electric guitar in "Iago" is one of the disc's most melodic moments. "9/8 Variations" is one of my favourite tunes with perhaps the most enjoyable guitar on the disc. The layered guitar, heavy rock riffs and powerful drum work is a joy to behold, Fantastic stuff! More wonderful guitar playing can be heard on "Babel Inside", a song with another great groove.

The Failure Of Words is a must have for fans of guitar based instrumental rock. It is an imaginative and refreshing take on a genre with no shortage of talent and folks, these guys have that in spades.

Band members:
Frédéric L'Épée (guitars, keyboards)
Laurent James (guitars)
Nico Gomez (bass)
Volodia Brice (drums)

Track Listing:
1. El Diablo (7:18)
2. Six Four Five (5:21)
3. Iago (4:12)
4. 9/8 Variations (8:03)
5. Babel Inside (6:02)
6. Slow Flow (Flux Lent) (5:29)
7. Indecision (5:40)
8. Décroissance (Degrowth) (5:28)
9. Healing (Guérison) (6:09)

Added: September 20th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Bandcamp Page
Hits: 1624
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by