Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rosenfeld, Avi: Very Heepy Very Purple VII

Guitarist/composer Avi Rosenfeld is back with his seventh release in his Very Heepy Very Purple, his second actually in 2017, and 33rd album overall in what we can safely call a pretty prolific career so far for this young talent. Joining him on this latest tribute to classic Deep Purple, Rainbow, and Uriah Heep are a host of guest musicians from around the globe contributing vocals, drums, Hammond organ, guitar, and bass. As different players appear on each track, all the songs have a slightly varied flavor, though the major influences are always there, with Rosenfeld's Ritchie Blackmore styled guitar licks front and center.

"Somebody Alone" could have easily been a long lost leftover from the Rainbow Down to Earth album, with vocalist Piyush Kapoor doing his best Graham Bonnett impression, while "Caesars" is a pure throwback to early '70s Uriah Heep, as heavy Hammond organ drenches the arrangement and Gautam Tamang's wailing vocals soaring over the top. "Castle Knights From Edinburgh" and "Walls of Castle Black" blend early Yngwie Malmsteen power metal/neo-classical flair with some Purple/Rainbow bombast, the Hammond & lead guitars dueling wonderfully, Luca Micioni's vocals sounding like a young Bruce Dickinson on the former. Fans of Deep Purple's bluesy hard rock will love the smoky "Rock in Heaven", Ray Blindman's savage vocals having a hint of Ronnie James Dio as well as Ian Gillan and loads of guitar & keyboard duels, and it's back to Heepville for the Hammond soaked boogie that is "Took the Morning Train". Another highlight is the snarling "Tail Gunner", a European styled power metal rager that wouldn't sound out of place on a Jorn album, complete with potent vocals from Ivan Giannini and both Rosenfeld and Igor Pokalitov trading guitar lines with keyboard player Victor Hugo Santafe Ossa.

I'm not sure how long Avi Rosenfeld can or will keep doing these Very Heepy Very Purple albums before they become somewhat redundant, but for now they are still a lot of fun for anyone who loves the bands he is paying homage to. Nice job once again!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Walls Of Castle Black 05:01
2. Somebody Alone 03:59
3. Caesars 04:40
4. Castle Knights From Edinburgh 06:06
5. Evil Clown 04:27
6. City Gates 04:45
7. Rock In Heaven 04:47
8. Took The Morning Train 04:31
9. Laylas Lover 03:55
10. Tail Gunner 05:07

Added: September 17th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Artist @ Bandcamp
Hits: 1621
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by