Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Bangtower: With N With Out

Indeed, American prog fusion band Bangtower has an impressive resume. The core trio of Neil Citron (guitars, keyboards, vocals), Percy Jones (bass, keyboards) and Walter Garces (drums, percussion) is back with their sophomore release With N With Out, the follow up to their 2010 debut Casting Shadows. Percy Jones is best known as the co-founder of Brand X, Grammy Award winning Neil Citron has worked with a number artists like Steve Vai, Steve Lukather, Lana Lane, Rocket Scientists and Larry Carlton and Walter Garces is a member of the psychedelic rock band The Electric Prunes as well as being a sought after session musician. Also featured on the album are a number of guest musicians including Frankie Banali (drums on tracks 3, 7 and 11), Rodger Carter (drums on tracks 1, 6 and 12), Robertino Pagliari (bass on tracks 3, 5, 6 and 7), Jon Pomplin (keys on tracks 2 and 11, bass on track 5), Joan Fraley (vocals on tracks 3, 7 and 12, bass on track 12), Chris Colovas (bass on track 1), Josh Greenbaum (drums on track 5) and Justin Stone (piano on track 12).

The disc begins with the softer fusion of "Hello, I'm Here" with its dreamy guitar and floating keyboard soundscape propelled by a silky drum groove. "PCH" is much more upbeat with an electronic vibe and the tricky drum patterns show why Garces is an exceptional drummer. Over the song's three minutes the music slows before the band really get it going again showing their formidable chops without losing their melodic sensibilities. "Chipotle" is more rocking still, but with quieter keyboard filled interludes. Citron's clean and fuzzy tones are a delight to listen to. The wonderful bass in "Soul to Sole" is another highlight and Citron's guitar work is filled with depth and feeling. The lovely "My Father's Smile" has Citron going it alone playing all instruments. Really beautiful stuff. There are no duff tracks and the album flows beautifully from beginning to end. I definitely recommend you take the time (an hour plus) and listen to the album proper in one sitting.

Bangtower have really nailed it on With N With Out. Progressive fusion fans need to take notice.

Track Listing:
1. Hello I'm Here
2. PCH
3. Chipotle
4. Soul to Sole
5. Roger, Wilco N Out
6. Uncle Floyd
7. Kitty's Real Groove
8. My Father's Smile
9. McGown's Pass
10. This is My Town
11. 6/8 Primate
12. Good Bye N Good Nite

Added: September 16th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2586
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by