Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

LABtrio: Nature City

LABtrio is a three piece jazz band hailing from Belgian. Their new disc Nature City is their fourth overall, the follow up to The Howls Are Not What They Seem released in 2016. The trio consists of Lander Gyselinck (drums), Bram De Looze (piano, Fender Rhodes) and Anneleen Boehme (double bass). The band perform modern jazz in an adventurous way without going too far off the beaten path so as not to lose the listener's attention span. These are complex yet fairly melodic compositions with enough imagination and improvisation to keep you guessing as to what will happen next.

The first track "Elevator" begins with electronic pulses with the music building ever so slowly. It's an exploration of mellower sounds, at times even a little ominous before some excellent ensemble play takes hold. Tasty bass and piano lead the way. The energetic "Variation 15" is a nice jazz piece with all three musicians excelling on their instruments while "Lumen" has another slowly delivered tempo with standout bass playing throughout. "Fugue" is another adventurous piece starting out quiet before jaunty piano and off kilter rhythmic patterns and stop/start drumming has the band's talent on full display. "Ihor" is another somewhat angular composition that has the band revving it up yet still keeping a refined nuance to their sound. The drumming here is stellar.

One of the more experimental pieces has to be "Inside Now" where the space between the instruments creates tension and the improvising borders on the avant-garde. The album ending "Amnesiac" is another moody and complex piece focusing on innovative drum and bass patterns.

There is no questioning the talent of these young musicians. Their focus and creativity should be commended. Nature City is certainly an album I will delve into again, especially when I am in the mood for more 'challenging' fare.

Track Listing:
1. Elevator (7:08)
2. Variation 15 (4:01)
3. Lumen (5:30)
4. Ihor (9:50)
5. Fugue (6:01)
6. Inside Now (7:48)
7. Mental Floss (8:45)
8. Happy Famous Artists (4:38)
9. Amnesiac (5:34)

Added: September 16th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1148
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by