Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dirty Thrills: Heavy Living

It should come as no surprise that none other than the esteemed Frontiers Records is presenting one of 2017's can't miss young '70s styled hard rock acts, Dirty Thrills. Their brand new album, Heavy Living, is a fun & exciting slab of classic rock 'n' roll sure to thrill any fan of The Faces, Led Zeppelin, Free, Humble Pie, and Cactus, kind of like the British alternative to American act Rival Sons. Comprised of Louis James (Lead Vocals, Harmonica, and son of former Moody Blues vocalist Nicky James), Jack Fawdry (Guitar, Backing Vocals), Steve Corrigan (Drums), and Aaron Plows (Bass), this foursome rocks and rocks hard, bringing plenty of swagger and attitude along for the ride.

Complete with thunderous grooves to go along with that swagger I mentioned above, Dirty Thrills come across like a band who have been doing this for a lot longer than the mere five years they have been together. Tracks like "Law Man" and "Go Slow" feature some irresistible hooks and lean, mean guitar riffing, while bluesy atmosphere mixes with a metallic framework on the heavy "Hanging Around". Though I haven't seen these guys live, I've no doubt that singer James probably oozes charisma on the stage, as he just owns "No Resolve" and "I'll Be With You", his Robert Plant meets Glenn Hughes styled pipes signal a star in the making. This guy can flat out wail folks. Want pure headbanging hard rock fury? Check out the crushing "The Brave" or the Queens of the Stone Age influenced thumpers "Get Loose" and Rabbit Hole" for some groove laden and heavy rocking fun.

The word 'potential' is often thrown around quite a bit when discussing a newer, young band, but it's safe to say that London's Dirty Thrills possess plenty of that and then some. These guys have studied the classics very well and used that as the framework to deliver their own brand of modern hard rock. Heavy Living is a powerful new release from a band we are certain to hear a lot about in the months and years to come. Check it out.

Track Listing
01 I'll be with you
02 Go slow
03 Law man
04 Hanging around
05 lonely soul
06 No resolve
07 Interlude
08 The brave
09 Rabbit hole
10 Drunk Words
11 Get loose

Added: September 16th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1641
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by