Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mothers Earth Experiment, The: The Mothers Earth Experiment

Having supported a number of acts, most notably Gong and Arthur Brown, The Mothers Earth Experiment are on the rise in the world of progressive rock. Hailing from the West Midlands, England the band released their debut EP in 2015 titled Don't Speak Against the Sun and have followed that up with their first full length, a self-titled effort that has really got my attention in a big way.

All I can say this is a real gem of an album beginning with the opening track "Talos". Moody synths build into what is a fantastic '60s influenced psychedelic rock song. The vocals, both lead and backing are excellent and the rhythm section lays down a supremely catchy groove. The music gets a little spacey in the more ethereal sections but mostly this song flat out rocks, yet in a restrained classy way. "Quietus" is a nine minute stunner with great guitar riffs, loads of organ and more adventurous interludes as the song's length gives the band more opportunity to explore different soundscapes. The added saxophone is a real treat especially the magnificent build at song's end. Certainly Pink Floyd is a major influence in this one. More highlights include the introspective and jazzy "Trust Me" with sublime vocals and lyrics gearing towards the crookedness of politics, the elegant "Elbow Room" with its wonderfully laid back guitar (although it does get heavier as the song progresses) and jazzy funk rock underpinnings and the progressively stunning "Mono No Aware" combining elements of ambient, jazz, psychedelic and of course prog.

Wow, what an excellent album from a band I previously knew nothing about. How cool is that? Highly recommended!

The band are:

James Baker (keyboards, vocals)
Jake Clarke (bass guitar, fretless bass, synth)
Reece Greenfield (drums, vocals)
Oliver Overton (percussion)
Mark Roberts (lead vocals, electric guitar)
Jackson Younger (electric and acoustic guitar)

Track Listing:
1. Talos
2. Quietus
3. Trust Me
4. Elbow Room
5. Mono No Aware
6. Cool Down Mama

Added: September 13th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 925
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by