Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ektomorf: Warpath-Live and Life on the Road (CD/DVD)

Is it cliche yet to use the theme music to Game of Thrones as intro music before a metal band goes on stage? Well, if we aren't quite there yet, chalk up Hungary's very own nu-metal/groove metal/thrashers Ektomorf as the latest act to jump on the popular HBO show bandwagon. That aside, Warpath-Live and Life on the Road is the veteran acts new live album, recorded at their appearance at 2016's Wacken Festival, and features a wealth of material from their then new album Aggressor sprinkled with a few of their older numbers. It's an energetic set, highlighted by rampaging renditions of "Holocaust", "Move On", "Evil By Nature", "Leech", and "United Nations". Ektomorf lay down some serious bottom end, the rhythms of bassist Szabi Murvai & drummer Robert Jaksa provide for the thump alongside Zoltán Farkas and Tomi Schrottner guitars, which are straight out of the Slipknot playbook. In fact, that's kind of always been my impression of Ektomorf, a poor mans Slipknot who are still pumping out this brand of metal a decade plus after it's already jumped the shark. That being said, Warpath is an energetic live album, the band obviously having a blast but at the same time trying too hard. There's only so many "make some fucking noise Wacken!" and "I can't hear you!" that you can take after a while. The CD itself sounds great, and over on the DVD you get to see all the mayhem firsthand, with a fun documentary that shows life on the road for the band...these guys obviously know how to live the heavy metal life on the road!

If you are a fan, Warpath will be a must have live album for your growing Ektomorf collection. If these guys have yet to win your over, your opinion probably won't change here.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01. Aggressor
02. Move On
03. Ambush In The Night
04. Holocaust
05. Black Flag
06. Evil By Nature
07. United Nations
08. Leech
09. Fuck You All
10. I Know Them
11. Outcast

Added: September 10th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1201
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by