Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Saeedi, Salim Ghazi: United Ubiquity of Flesh

Let's get this straight, Salim Ghazi Saeedi is an exceptional guitarist. The Iranian born musician, formerly of the band Arashk has four solo albums to his credit:

Iconophobic (2010)
Human Encounter (2011)
nanoWoman (2012)
United Ubiquity of Flesh (2017)

Like his previous effort nanoWoman, United Ubiquity of Flesh has the musician playing everything himself including guitars, bass, keyboards and drum arrangements. Elements of jazz, world, progressive, hard rock and metal crop up throughout all dolloped with an experimental edge that should even appeal to those into more avant-garde forms. Although he plays a few instruments it is really the guitar that is the star of this show. Oblique angular rhythms, fiery solos, distorted bursts and cleanly picked notes are executed with a dramatic flair. He also brings his homeland into the mix with Middle Eastern accents, prime examples being the first two tracks "Drenched by Desire of You" and "Bodily Invasion". The former featuring complex guitar structures from clean tones to more distorted riffage while the latter relies on razor edged guitar with a more distorted feel. Intricate guitar, both clean and distorted highlight the mysterious "At Home Dwells Death (Prelude)" while its follow up of the same name features heavier fuzzy tones and a stand out bass line. All through the album Saeedi shines in both technique and imagination, utilizing his talent to flesh out complex song structures with interesting twists and turns.

This is one of those albums that will likely require a few listens to sink in and that isn't a bad thing as this one has staying power. If you enjoy guitar centered rock and fusion brimming with eclecticism you really should give this one a try.

Track Listing:
1. Drenched by Desire of You
2. Bodily Invasion
3. United Ubiquity of Flesh
4. Universal Resurrection is the Sexiest Day of All
5. At Home Dwells Death (Prelude)
6. At Home Dwells Death
7. Million Hands Oriental Dancer
8. Lion's Mouth is my Home
9. Let's Sit Naked, O Friend
10. No Wind and I'm Out
11. Untameable Heart of the Artist

Added: September 3rd 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 976
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by