Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sun Dial: Made In The Machine

Sun Dial is a UK psychedelic/space rock outfit from the UK. The band formed in 1990 by guitarist Gary Ramon. Their debut album Other Way Out was released in 1990. After a few years the band took a break and returned to the fold in 2002. Their previous album Mind Control came out in 2012. This brings us to their latest effort Made In The Machine released in late 2016.

The band consists of Gary Ramon (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Scorpio (bass, Moog Taurus) and Joolie Wood (keyboards).

This is my first experience with Sun Dial and I am glad to have made there acquaintance. Psychedelic and space rock is mostly what you will hear and there is a strong electronic element pervading these fourteen tracks. There is lots of music to explore and the record runs around seventy-two minutes long. The album is mostly instrumental with only three tracks having vocals. Waves of siren effects begin "Meltdown" the disc's opening track. A two note keyboard motif and spacey synths develop as the groove sets in. The lead vocals are good and slightly monotone, fitting in nicely with the electronic sound design. Floating keyboards and trippy guitars drift like clouds in the sky amidst the pulsating electronics and solid beat. On "Sea Of Rain" the mood is more serene and atmospheric with the guitar riffs accentuating the mood. With "Spacedust" the sustained ethereal guitar makes for another highlight. "Autopilot" is the longest track and probably the most hypnotic with its spacey sitar sounds and relentless electronics. This one takes trippiness to a whole new level. On the surface it might not seem like too much is happening but when you peel back the layers nothing could be further from the truth. Of course the same can be said for many of these tracks.

Made In The Machine is an excellent pysch/space rock disc that I think many of our readers will really dig. A Sulatron Records release.

Track Listing:
1. Meltdown
2. Contact
3. Ascension
4. Sea Of Rain
5. Spacedust
6. Aurora
7. Sun Gate
8. Regenerator
9. Eclipse
10. Autopilot
11. In The Machine
12. Dark Planet
13. Slipstream
14. The Gates Of Eden

Added: August 31st 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1105
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by